Day 134 – Christopher

16 Aug

My friend Kim and I were having a conversation today about how we really don’t like to photograph people in “posed” shots. It isn’t inspiring or fun for me at all so that means it is something I need to get comfortable with and there is no better way to practice than on people you know and love (mostly because you can boss them around!!)

If you know me at all chances are you know Christopher because he is one of my dearest friends and I love him to pieces. The funny thing about him though is that he is an actor and LOVES attention but he hates to get his photograph taken because he is own worst critic. He will ham it up and act crazy, giving funny faces or wild antics but to just sit and post for a photo? He is very uncomfortable. So when he jokingly said feel free to take some photos of me I took him up on the offer and we roamed around Bardstown Road shooting away.

I decided to ask him what he hates about photos that he sees of himself and ask him what he liked and basically just tried different angles and keep him talking. I think we both learned a lot on that little excursion and much to my excitement I got some shots he really liked! I hope he agrees to be my guinea pig again because it was a great exercise for me in portrait photography.



19 Responses to “Day 134 – Christopher”

  1. Terri Jacobson August 16, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    He is a very nice looking guy, you’re lucky to have his as a guinea pig!

    Nice portraits. This is one of those places I really need work too.

    • mindymilburn August 17, 2010 at 8:48 am #

      Portraits are so hard for me but he was a great subject πŸ™‚ Thank you!

  2. Allison August 16, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    I don’t like posed portraits either, Mindy. Too stiff and formal for me.

    Luckily, I have kids who are usually willing models for me, and let me tell them what to do.

    You did great!

    • mindymilburn August 17, 2010 at 8:49 am #

      Thank you Ally πŸ™‚ It was fun, I have asked my niece to go out with me one day too!

  3. dpixel365 August 16, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    Note #1. He’s a great looking guy, so I dont’ see how you can possibly get a “bad” shot
    Note #2. You did a great job on these.

    I’ve found that HeadShots mean different things to different people. As a photographer, we need to channel those feelings and then both the client and you will be happy.

    There is no wrong or right way to take a portrait shot (my opinion)

    • mindymilburn August 17, 2010 at 8:50 am #

      I agree that there is no wrong or right way and thank you for sharing your shots with me earlier. I just need to work on getting comfortable in this area πŸ™‚

      And thank you!

  4. Swapmeet Louie August 16, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    I’m more of a candid-shot kind of photographer myself, but if I were to do portraits, I think I’d get the subject drunk as hell first so they have fun and feel comfortable. Either that or I’d just follow them around and take random pics. One is bound to be usable!

    • mindymilburn August 17, 2010 at 8:51 am #

      I am more of a candid photographer too but you can’t always do a candid if you are asked to take a portrait. Hence the practicing.

      • Stasia August 17, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

        See: The Truth About Cats and Dogs for a demonstration of the effectiveness of this “get them drunk first” method. Movies never lie, right?

  5. Kerri August 16, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    I think these are FAB! I espcially LOVE the first one!! I am really really AWFUL at people pictures …. I need to find a guinea pig πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn August 17, 2010 at 8:51 am #

      HEH, thanks Kerri. I can’t imagine you being awful at anything though!!

  6. Beth August 16, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    He is so cute I just want to give him a big hug,he doesn’t look like a guinea pig at all either so I don’t know why you called him that. πŸ™‚

    Why would you doubt yourself in taking portraits of people, you did AWESOME.You can do anything. Love you!

    • mindymilburn August 17, 2010 at 8:52 am #

      You are too damn sweet, and that is why I love you πŸ˜€

      He is cute isn’t he? So funny, wish you had been with us.

  7. catherineross August 16, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    Fabulous shots Mindy! My favorite is the first one…the B&W is striking!

    • mindymilburn August 17, 2010 at 8:53 am #

      I love the b&w too πŸ™‚ thank you Cathy

  8. Dijea August 16, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    I love the first one.

  9. Stasia August 17, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    Those are all great pics!! I really like the first one best. Why do I have a feeling these will end up in his portfolio?

  10. Susan August 18, 2010 at 6:11 am #

    Very nice! You both did good!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

