Day 133 – Blue Skies & Red Barns

15 Aug

I am going to be honest and say I did nothing today except to recuperate from drinking Friday night. Funny how long it takes me to recover as compared to when I was a lot younger. I am not admitting to getting old or anything just increased recovery time is needed after a fun night. Since I didn’t get up off the couch much less take any photos I am sharing one that I took on one of my weekend outings with my mom.

I am always on the lookout for a cool barn to shoot so when we came across this one I had to stop, there wasn’t much room on the side of the road for us to pull off and it was crazy busy on that back road but somehow I managed to get a shot without getting ran over. I hope you enjoy it, I do so love me some barns πŸ™‚

29 Responses to “Day 133 – Blue Skies & Red Barns”

  1. Laura August 15, 2010 at 1:08 am #

    I think it must be the complementary colors that make red barns so interesting. The contrast between the red of the barn and the green of the grass is just pleasing to the eye. I love that I can see all the way through the barn. Cool shot. Well worth the danger πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn August 17, 2010 at 8:57 am #

      Thank you Laura, the colors were really catching to me as well I think that is why it stopped me in my tracks.

  2. Jackie August 15, 2010 at 1:16 am #

    Wow the colors are gorgeous!

  3. Swapmeet Louie August 15, 2010 at 6:15 am #

    One thing I really enjoy about your pics is when you describe how you got the shot. I think the search is just as interesting as the final product, so I’m always curious as to what you went through to take the pic.

    I’m a fan of barns, so I have no problem with seeing more pics of them. You really should consider making a calendar of barns. They’re a part of the American landscape, after all!

    And there’s nothing wrong with taking a little longer to recover from a night of drinking. The point is to recover and to NEVER DRINK AGAIN (until next time). That’s what I do, and I’m stickin’ to it.

    • mindymilburn August 17, 2010 at 8:57 am #

      Thanks lol, I do love my barns, I will think about the calendar, it just seems like so much work πŸ™‚

  4. BILL August 15, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    Barns? I LOVE BARNS!!! (but I think you already knew that. :d ) This one is striking! Red against Blue against green. I kind of feel sad that so many boards are missing. Makes you think that they can’t afford to fix it… American Farmers are struggling right now.
    A calendar would be very cool!!! πŸ˜‰

    • mindymilburn August 17, 2010 at 8:58 am #

      I might have read somewhere that you liked barns πŸ˜€

      Thank you for the compliments and I agree that they always tell a story and make you wonder what is going on with the people that own them.

  5. Sharon H August 15, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    True Americana – a calendar would rock, Mindy. Funny Bill, “Farm Aid” popped into my head when I saw this! Probably because we watched Willie on Larry King Live the other night, and it’s still floating around in my head.

    • mindymilburn August 17, 2010 at 8:59 am #

      Thank you Sharon, I promise I will think on the calendar πŸ™‚

  6. Bonnie August 15, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Beautiful shot πŸ™‚

  7. celinawyss August 15, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    Ooh love the colors, and is that water running through it?

  8. lrlee August 15, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Really beautiful shot. Like the fire hydrant out front too

  9. Kerri August 15, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    Oh this is LOVELY Mindy! I like barns too!!

    • mindymilburn August 17, 2010 at 9:00 am #

      Thank you Kerri, there is something about them that really draws me in.

  10. Dijea August 15, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    I love your barns! This one is excellent. The sky is so blue, the grass is so green & the barn is so red.

  11. Beth August 15, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    Very pretty πŸ™‚

  12. Terri Jacobson August 15, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    That barn has great character. Very nice Mindy.

  13. Ingrid August 16, 2010 at 1:25 am #

    Beautiful. Awesome clouds.

  14. catherineross August 16, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    I love barns too!! My parents retired to Vermont over 20 years ago, and I love to visit and photography the countryside. Barns are always a favorite subject! Your photo is just beautiful and I love the colors!

    • mindymilburn August 17, 2010 at 9:02 am #

      Thank you so much Cathy, I would love to travel around to photograph different barns, what a story that would be!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Day 133 – Blue Skies & Red Barns Β« Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project -- Topsy.com - August 15, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by TheFrontloader.com, Jen Bronenkant and Mindy, CAMPFIRESKY. CAMPFIRESKY said: RT @zandria1: Photo Blog Day 133 – Blue Skies & Red Barns http://bit.ly/anaQar #project365 #photography […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

