Day 130 – Shine On

12 Aug

First I want to give a special shout  out to my friend Bill who totally  blew me away with a special moment he facilitated at a Josh Ritter show this past Saturday night. I kept reading about this anonymous fan and it turns out it was you. I am left in awe of what you did my friend and I hope we get to see a show together some day. If you want to see the whole story head on over to www.thefrontloader.com to read about it.

Today was a very weird day! Work was insane and I think someone could have possibly spiked the cities water supply because the rudeness was in full force, and I was counting down the minutes so that I could run out the door. After work I went to see a play and had a wonderful time laughing, eating ice cream, and enjoying a good show. During the show I received two messages, one that brought tears to my eyes and one that made me do a double take and literally say out loud WHAT THE F@%#K? I came home and found out exactly “WTF” was going on and and addressed the text that made me cry and realized that there really are no frontiers.

None of this making sense to you? Well welcome to the club! My day was insane but in the end I feel I am better off before laying my  head on my pillow to sleep than I was when I woke up this morning. That is what counts isn’t it? Many times when you feel like things can’t get any worse the light shines through and you know everything will be ok and several people in my world had that experience today including me. Sometimes all you  need is a kind word, sometimes all you need is the truth, and sometimes you just need to remember a moment that left you  breathless and you just know tomorrow the sun will rise and you get another chance to make it a good day and do all the things you wished you  had done yesterday.

This photos was taken down by the Ohio River in Kentucky and I thought it was very fitting for the post with the sun peaking through the  leaves of the tree lighting it up with the hope for tomorrow!

Shine On

Shine On

20 Responses to “Day 130 – Shine On”

  1. Terri Jacobson August 12, 2010 at 1:57 am #

    The water was spiked here too. I am normally very patient and roll with the punches, today I was ready to start swing.

    Here is to a better day tomorrow.

    • mindymilburn August 13, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

      When it rains it pours huh 🙂 The weekend is almost here and that is the light at the end of the tunnel 🙂

  2. Swapmeet Louie August 12, 2010 at 3:45 am #

    Totally dig the picture! I’m glad you did B&W here… imagining it in color would not have the same effect. Color would have taken the focus off the sun I think…

    Sorry your day was so weird, but I’m glad it all worked out in the end. Sometimes it takes just a slight nudge to get things in the right groove. Never underestimate the nudge.

    And yeah, Bill is pretty awesome. I think we’re all better people for knowing him.

    And Bill, if you read this, where’s my $1.82?????

    • mindymilburn August 13, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

      Well you know me and b&w, never enough b&w photos in the world in my opinion 🙂 I will never underestimate the power of the nudge I promise you 🙂

  3. Susan August 12, 2010 at 5:03 am #

    Gotta have hope at the end of the day.

    That thing with Bill just blew me away too. He is one heck of a guy.

  4. Allison August 12, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    Beautiful, Mindy!

  5. Kimmy August 12, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    Okay you didn’t tell me about the text that made you cry but being a part of the WTF saga was um, well, I don’t know how to describe that LOL.

    This photo is beautiful and I agree with whoever said it wouldn’t be the same in color. The sun peeking through the tree in such a perfect star shape is captivating!

  6. Kerri August 12, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    A Beautiful image Mindy! So sorry that your day didn’t go well yesterday ~ but happy that the sun is shining for you today 🙂

    • mindymilburn August 13, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

      Thank you Kerri sweetie, you are such a wonderful spirit.

  7. SHAZnyc August 12, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    Great shot. Love the sun burst.

  8. Sharon H August 12, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    Lovely, and today is so much better than yesterday! 😉

  9. Ingrid August 12, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    Beautiful Capture.

  10. BILL August 13, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    Thanks for the shout-out!<3

    I love this picture… and of course that it is B&W. As for rude people… I think between the heat and the economy, peoples nerves are frayed and everyone is on edge. We sure could use some good news and happy thoughts…….

    (Tommy, I'd be happy to give you your $1.82 in person at a Ritter concert)

    • mindymilburn August 13, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

      You are quite welcome, you are so awesome!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

