Day 129 – I Am Free

11 Aug

You starting to sense a theme with my  blog this week? I am all about  the positivity now and I am finding it in so many place. If you follow me at all on here you know I have a little thing for photographing butterflies and there isn’t anything about the photo I took today that I don’t love. 🙂

Shooting or trying to shoot these creatures is a chore and a half but the pay off is always worth it and this weekend I was really thinking about the amazing journey that butterflies go on to become what many consider beautiful. They are confined and restricted and finally shed that skin to blossom into something stunning. Life is a bit like a butterfly, it often surrounds us with negativity and restrictions  and it is always a challenge to see the light at the end of the tunnel but when you break through that barrier (whatever it may be) you feel liberated and free.

I am working on being free and I think I am  on the right path. Each day is a blessing and it is often said that we should live it as if it is our last. We are not guaranteed that chance to say I am sorry, to kiss  the person we love, to hold the hand of a friend, and we should definitely hold on to every moment and cherish it.

I Am Free

I Am Free

20 Responses to “Day 129 – I Am Free”

  1. Swapmeet Louie August 11, 2010 at 3:13 am #

    When I see this pic, I see the butterfly on the verge of take off… I don’t know if that’s what was happening, but after reading your words, I have a good feeling about it.

    I wish you nothing but the best on your journey. You have so much to give, so much to offer, and so much love inside of you that it shows in everything you do. The patience you must have to capture these butterfly shots is unfathomable to me, but that’s just me. I envy you and the butterfly for being a part of this.

    No, we are guaranteed nothing in life except that it will end. Live, love, and embrace…

    There is so much freedom in this post. I hope you find what you’re looking for, and I hope it’s more than what you thought possible.

    • mindymilburn August 11, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

      Thank you Thomas, it is a journey. We all screw up and we all do things we aren’t proud of and all we can hope for is that the people that we love are there waiting with open arms to forgive us.

      The butterfly was about to take off, and hopefully just like him I am as well.

      • Swapmeet Louie August 11, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

        If the people love you, then they’ll be there waiting.

  2. Susan August 11, 2010 at 5:12 am #

    It’s beautiful, just like you.

  3. BILL August 11, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    Miss Mindy, You are one of the kindest spirits and I agree with Tommy.. it shows in everything that you do.
    Just the image of you carefully running around a field of flowers to capture a butterfly brings a smile to my face. Learning how to shed the chains of life and a hard lesson. Thanks for reminding me that it can be as easy as watching a butterfly.

    • mindymilburn August 11, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

      Bill, that was beautiful. Thank you my friend, you in turn juts made me smile.

  4. dpixel365 August 11, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    I know exactly what you mean….
    Beautiful photos

  5. Kimmy August 11, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    I have a LOT of catching up to do with photo blogs but I had a few minutes during my lunch break to stop by and read and I’m glad I started with this one. The photo is great as usual but more important is the message and your delivery. I’m glad you have found your path and even more excited that I get to be ‘free’ with you for 10 long days. I miss you! xoxo

    • mindymilburn August 11, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

      This blog has become about a story with me along with a photo hasn’t it. I am not sure how it developed into that but I am so happy you are enjoying it.

      I miss you too and I can’t wait to be sitting on that plane with you for our 9 days of relaxation and leaving the real world behind.

  6. ladybugfamily August 11, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    i love your butterfly picture. i also love capturing the perfect shot and butterflies are very difficult! your words are moving as well….

  7. Bonnie August 11, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    I also love your butterfly photos and appreciate the effort required to obtain such a beautiful photo. Butterflies are a good symbol of growth and transformation and the freedom achieved at the end of a long road. Keep up the good work 🙂

    • mindymilburn August 13, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

      Thank you Bonnie, everything you said was spot on!

  8. Sharon H August 11, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    For me, your past several photo blogs are drenched in freedom of individuality, and a psych makeover is exactly what I need at this time. Lately, I’ve permitted myself to be bound by the opinions and overtures of others resulting in a feeling of inadequacy. I’ve always been a free spirit of sorts, and creative in my own right, but these days, for various reasons, I am grasping to hold on to the me I once knew.

    Thank you for your spiritually creative words. I believe you are just as talented a writer, as a photographer, Mindy. I often only check these blogs once a week, but will make a point to visit every day – as part of my healing regime!

    • mindymilburn August 13, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

      Oh thank you so much, how wonderful to read that I inspire healing in you. What a great compliment.

      I really appreciate you taking the time to comment and sharing your struggles. It is always nice to know when others share your rough times, it makes you feel like you are understood.

  9. Terri Jacobson August 12, 2010 at 1:25 am #

    Beautiful Mindy. Very nice writing to go with the image.

  10. Laura August 15, 2010 at 1:16 am #

    Is it just me or is the butterfly having a Titanic moment: “I’m the king of the world!” It’s a fantastic shot.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Day 129 – I Am Free « Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project -- Topsy.com - August 11, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by dslifton, shutterbugcel, Michael, Mindy, Pixel and others. Pixel said: Beautiful. @zandria1 Photo Blog Day 129 – http://bit.ly/dznbo1 #project365 #photography […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

