Day 128 – Alone With My Thoughts

10 Aug

I never really walk around my neighborhood to photograph because Beth and I are always trying to find “cool new places” to shoot photos but this weekend I got up early on Saturday and walked around  before everyone was up and moving, and it was a really nice day. We had a beautiful weather on Saturday,  and it was a very meditative walk so I was able to spend  some quality time with my thoughts.

There is nothing more wonderful than realizing how grateful you are for the good things in your life and this weekend was a nice reminder of that. I have this amazing family that I wouldn’t trade for the world and some of the greatest friends I could ever ask for, and that is what life is all about, the connections that we make with others and sometimes you have to be alone with your own thoughts to appreciate that. To all of my friends near and far I love you all very much and I am thankful for you every single day even if we don’t get to see one another, and to Patty and Kimmy…. just 10 more days and we get to be thankful all together!!!!

This bench sitting all alone reminded me of myself, it looks so okay sitting there all on its own because it was surrounded by life and that is exactly how I was feeling.

Alone With My Thoughts

Alone With My Thoughts

24 Responses to “Day 128 – Alone With My Thoughts”

  1. Jackie August 10, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    I love the bench and I love what you said. And I love you Babe.

  2. Swapmeet Louie August 10, 2010 at 2:13 am #

    Love that pic and the thought that comes with it. You’re right… when it comes down to it, it’s just you and what surrounds you. Everything works together, and if you fight it, you’re bound to lose.

    Benches are meant to be sat in 😉

    Figure that one out and you’ll win a prize.

    • mindymilburn August 10, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

      Thank you, it was a wonderful day of thinking for me. But I am sorry to say I have no clue on the riddle lol

  3. Susan August 10, 2010 at 6:30 am #

    The picture takes on a whole new meaning because of your blog. You brought it to life.

    • mindymilburn August 10, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 That makes me very happy.

  4. Fernando August 10, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    Its sensitivity is something I love, congratulations. Sometimes we can be alone inside our thoughts, is the most secure and reassuring. Kiss.

    • mindymilburn August 10, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

      Thank you my friend, you are so very kind.

  5. Stasia August 10, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    It’s perfect! Look how the bench is lit up – just like you were on your walk. Okay – that sounded totally cheesy but I’m not deleting it. 🙂

    • mindymilburn August 10, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

      I don’t mind cheese at all! Thank you 🙂

  6. BILL August 10, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    Very profound thoughts….. Thanks for the perspective change… You’re a pretty special gal!

  7. KJ August 10, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    Such a great shot. For some reason I have this thing about photographing park benches, but I just never seem to get it right. Really good!

    • mindymilburn August 11, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

      I love it when people have a favorite thing to photograph. I find that I get to see the beauty of it through their eyes. I would love to see some of your bench shots!

  8. bonniegunkel August 10, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    I have photographed several park benches myself, but none of them have this look. Your blog was amazing. Love you Mindy ❤

    • mindymilburn August 11, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

      Thank you Bon, love you too and I hope you are having fun on your vacation!

  9. Kerri August 10, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

    Wonderful post my friend!!

  10. mitzs August 10, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    Great composition hun and even better post to go with it.

  11. Beth August 11, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    Now ever time I see a park bench I will think about our friendship. You are a great person and a wonderful friend, I have been so lucky to have you in my life for 30 years 🙂 I love you!!!

    Enough about you :)……..The photo is amazing I would never have taken a picture of it. I would have looked at it and said “man I wanna sit down, we have been walking for ever”. But you look at it totally different. Its so pretty and peaceful, nice job.

    • mindymilburn August 11, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

      I love you too Bessie, we have been through it all haven’t we. It is I that am blessed and I was just talking about that to Chris on Sunday 🙂

  12. Sharon H August 11, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    An outstanding,loving sentiment, Mindy and relating yourself to the bench makes the photo extra special.

  13. Laura August 15, 2010 at 1:19 am #

    I really liked this photo on its own, and your words just added another layer of enjoyment. Great stuff to think about!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Twitted by ingridew - August 10, 2010

    […] This post was Twitted by ingridew […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

