Day 123 – Lorikeet Landing

5 Aug

This is an exhibit at the zoo where you can go into the caged area with the sweet nectar and the birds will land on you and eat from the small cup in your hand. My mom was very excited about this because she adores animals and the thought of getting to hold one was so exciting for her. Beth on the other hand wanted nothing at all to do with this process as she hates birds, and I mean it when I say she hates them. They freak her out.

The birds were so pretty and I decided not to get anything to feed them with so that I could take photos of my mom feeding them. Right before we went in she was scoping out the best spot where the birds were really friendly and she was so worried that none of them would come to her and she would just be standing there all alone (she thinks she has the worst luck in the world). Turns out she didn’t have a thing to worry about. They fought over her food, climbed on her head, tried to eat her shirt, and she loved every second of it.

I have included some of my mom having fun and some of the birds because they really were very pretty. My favorite is the one of the bird taking flight but his head is still in focus.  Enjoy.

12 Responses to “Day 123 – Lorikeet Landing”

  1. Terri Jacobson August 5, 2010 at 12:12 am #

    Those birds are beautiful. Your mom must have enjoyed herself tremendously, I know I would have.

  2. Sharon August 5, 2010 at 12:33 am #

    Mama is SO dang cute!!

  3. Jackie August 5, 2010 at 12:39 am #

    Gorgeous shots and the colors are so brilliant. I love the look on your mom’s face with the bird on her head!

  4. Swapmeet Louie August 5, 2010 at 3:58 am #

    Your mom’s “Are ya kiddin’ me?” look in that pic is priceless!

    And yes the in flight but still in focus shot is great! Wow. Colorful birdies… birdy num-num.

    I wonder how I’d feel to have all those colors on me that I can’t take off? I bet you I’d feel pretty proud. Birdy num-nums… hahaha!

  5. Susan August 5, 2010 at 6:26 am #

    Your mom is as cute as those birds! Which is way cuter than the dang seagulls that were dive-bombing people on the Atlantic City boardwalk last night. Beautiful shots.

  6. bonniegunkel August 5, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    LMAO at the one with the bird on Mom’s head! These are awesome! We must have missed this place when we were there, so glad I got to see it through you 🙂

  7. Allison August 5, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    We’ve got the same kind of thing at the Fort Worth Zoo, only with parakeets. I got some great pictures.

    I ❤ the one of your mom and the bird on her head.

  8. Beth August 5, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    Very pretty shots. The one of Mom looking down at the birds on her is so sweet.
    I was freaking out standing on the outside watching. I was thinking look at these crazy people letting birds land on them. But they are very pretty, just not my cup of tea.

  9. Dijea August 5, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    They look like they are kissing….

    Great & colorful shots.

  10. SHAZnyc August 5, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    Love the colours here.

  11. Paul R. Giunta August 5, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Love these birds!! I photographed some in Long Beach last year.

    Great shots!!

  12. Ingrid August 5, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Great shots Mindy. Very colorful birds.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

