Day 121 – Gorillas

3 Aug

As one of the most popular exhibits at the zoo you have to go into the gorilla house prepared to fight lots of people, the heat and crazy kids beating on the window separating them from the animals. If you get lucky they are all outside and that makes viewing them so much more pleasant but on this occasion luck was not on my side. All the gorillas were indoors and it was packed. Again I had to shoot through the grubby window so some of the  shots aren’t as clear as I would like but these animals are just gorgeous. I wanted to post them all but I narrowed it down to 8 and then my favorite I am posting as the full shot instead of a part of the gallery.

I love the shot of  just the side of his face looking off into the distance as well as the one of the back of his head and his hand holding food. I think the rest capture the different personalities and of course the  one of the foot and hand is just too cute not to share. I hope you enjoy 🙂

21 Responses to “Day 121 – Gorillas”

  1. Susan August 3, 2010 at 6:03 am #

    Fantastic photos! Wow, talk about capturing his personality. He’s downright posing for you I do believe. And is he sucking his thumb third one down on the right? Amazing creatures, aren’t they.

    • mindymilburn August 4, 2010 at 9:39 am #

      He was sucking his thumb and then cleaning his eye lol, so amazing. I mean so intelligent and beautiful.

  2. Swapmeet Louie August 3, 2010 at 6:05 am #

    I LOVE the profile shot of him. He actually looks like he’s deep in thought about something like, “What’s the geometrical meaning of the central extension of the algebra of diffeomorphisms of the circle?”

    When he’s really thinking, “I’m wearing two belts!”

    Great pictures!!!

    • Swapmeet Louie August 3, 2010 at 6:06 am #

      Yes, I know gorillas don’t wear belts! Ok, he’s thinking, “I’ve got to poo. I bet it tastes pretty good. I’m going to find out!”

    • mindymilburn August 4, 2010 at 9:40 am #

      You are a hot mess, and thank you 🙂

  3. Fernando August 3, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Querida, estou adorando suas fotos do zoológico. Há muita emoção nas imagens, expressões, com certeza um trabalho valioso. Parabéns! Beijo.

  4. BILL August 3, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    BRILLIANT!!! You really captured the fact that these beautiful, intellegent beings really are more than just “animals”.

    • mindymilburn August 4, 2010 at 9:42 am #

      Thank you Bill, it makes me sad to see them caged in 😦

  5. Margaret August 3, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    Wonderful shots… can’t even tell you’re shoot through the glass.

  6. Jackie August 3, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    I love these shots, especially the first. You can almost see into his soul through his eyes. I also like the shot of the toes!

    • mindymilburn August 4, 2010 at 9:43 am #

      HEH, I love the toes too, and thank you sweetie, I really like that profile shot too!

  7. Beth August 3, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Its so funny….I have the same shots(just not as good and clear). You are brilliant, and I love you!

    • mindymilburn August 4, 2010 at 9:43 am #

      You are way too kind and I love you too 🙂 and your shots are fabulous by the way I have seen them.

  8. Kathy August 4, 2010 at 2:25 am #

    I loved looking at these shots. I get a little sad though when I look at gorillas in captivity (I don’t think I have ever looked at them outside of captivity 🙂 )
    I think of them like humans, so sad to see them trapped.

    • mindymilburn August 4, 2010 at 9:45 am #

      It makes me sad too, it kind of breaks my heart 😦

  9. Allison August 4, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    That profile shot is beautiful, Mindy.

  10. SHAZnyc August 5, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    Great expressions.

  11. ladybugfamily August 11, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    just found your blog and i love that first picture of the gorilla’s face. wonderful!

  12. Sharon H August 11, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    A lovely study. I like the side photo best because of the emotion, his and mine. He has such a far away look in his eyes that he must be thinking about home. If they are as intelligent as we believe them to be, they must know they are trapped.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

