Day 120 – Lions & Lioness

2 Aug

Day two of my zoo week brings me to one of my favorite parts of the zoo trip, the lions. Before we even got to their  exhibit we could hear all of them roaring up a storm. Beth wanted to take off running right then but there was too much stuff in between us and them so we took our time with the other animals. When we finally got there they were all asleep or resting and we were a tad bummed that we missed all the action. As if on cue one of the twin lionesses came out and began to roar, in turn  the king of the jungle not to be outdone started to roar, then the other twin lioness joined it. They did this for a few moments and then all crowded back around one another to go back to sleep.

I thought they were telling us to move the heck on and quite gawking but Beth said she was told they do that to show off 🙂

19 Responses to “Day 120 – Lions & Lioness”

  1. Jackie August 2, 2010 at 1:21 am #

    How beautiful! Looks like the big guy was posing for you.

    • mindymilburn August 2, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

      I think he was, but then again I thought all the animals were posing for me 🙂

  2. Swapmeet Louie August 2, 2010 at 3:53 am #

    Lions always look so cute in pictures. It’s only when they are crushing your skull with their jaws when you realize that “cute” is the wrong word to describe them with.

    That being said, these pics make the lions look so cute! I just want to walk up to one, pet it on the head and say in a baby voice, “Awwww! Little kitty want a cookie?”

    That’s when my head would be engulfed…

    I wonder how lion tamers do it? I shoulda been a farmer.

    Lovely pictures! They look like paintings! How do you achieve that quality? Is that the megapixel power of the camera or post production?

    • mindymilburn August 2, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

      You are a strange strange boy.

      And thank you but I am not sure what painting quality you are getting. These I really didn’t do much to. The b&w one I played with the grain and contrast but the rest are just the original photos.

  3. Susan August 2, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    That last one with the two of them is my favorite, what a cute couple. No surprise, I don’t like the B&W ones at all.

    • mindymilburn August 2, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

      You really need to learn how to have an opinion LMAO!! I love the b&w ones the best 🙂 It is so funny thought every single time I convert a shot I say “bet Susan doesn’t like this one” HAHA

      • Susan August 2, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

        That is why you are the artiste! 😉

      • mindymilburn August 2, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

        You keep me honest and make me think, that is the best thing a person can do for me 🙂

  4. BILL August 2, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    WOW!! That 1st picture reminds me of a rug I’ve seen on a few occasions! ;-D Really great pictures!

    • mindymilburn August 2, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

      Thank you sir, they are majestic creatures so I didn’t have to do anything but point and shoot 🙂

  5. Allison August 2, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Great shots, Mindy!

    When I went to the zoo, the lions wouldn’t cooperate with me. It was just too hot.

    I love the black and white, but my favorite is the big man and his harem. You just know that the lady behind the man is the one in charge. 😉

    • mindymilburn August 4, 2010 at 9:38 am #

      Thanks Ally, I love the lions. They are just so beautiful. Oh and I totally think the lady rules that rock!!

  6. Kathy August 2, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    These are beautiful. I hope you make calendars this year for Christmas, I will buy one!!

  7. Fernando August 2, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    Hi Mindy! I just loved your photos at the zoo! The orangutan was fantastic, very expressive, and photos of lions fantastic! Congratulations! Beijos!

  8. Beth August 2, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    I was so excited when I heard then from a distance…BUT then the put on a show for us 🙂

    These pictures are great. He is very beautiful, and I think he knows it.
    I had a great time I am glad we went 🙂

  9. Sharon H August 11, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    I’m a cat person, and I LOVE these shots! I think the growling show was to let you and Beth know you were invading their territory, and not to forget just who is boss! They are cats after all! One of mine does that whenever we walk into the bedroom and she’s resting on the bed! LOL

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

