Day 119 – Orangutan

1 Aug

I went to the zoo today with my  mom and Beth and we had a really nice day. I hadn’t been since last summer and it has been to hot to go this summer but today was pretty mild compared to what it has been. I think I am going to post zoo photos all week because I hate to let them go to waste. I will still be shooting each day but unless I find something so spectacular I have to share you will be getting  animals this week. I have a feeling it will be ok since many of you are animal lovers.

The first shots that I wanted to share are of the Orangutan. He was so adorable, but behind a dirty fiberglass shield so it was hard to photograph him. He was posing and making cute faces and hamming it up for the kids that would come in but he looked so lonely and so sweet that we wanted to break him out of there and take him home. I  still think he was smiling for me at one point but I didn’t capture the smile.


13 Responses to “Day 119 – Orangutan”

  1. Terri Jacobson August 1, 2010 at 1:39 am #

    He was quite the ham for you. You captured his personality quite well.

    Nice images.

  2. Swapmeet Louie August 1, 2010 at 4:53 am #

    Sounds like it’ll be a fun week 🙂

    Glad you enjoyed your time at the zoo! That big monkey looks like he’s a gentle one… but I’m sure he’ll rip my arms out the sockets if I beat him at chess on the Millennium Falcon.

    So if the fiberglass shield were dirty, did you use PS to take the dirt off these pics?

    • mindymilburn August 1, 2010 at 11:31 am #

      It WILL be fun lol cause animals are cute 🙂

      He wouldn’t hurt you he is too cute for that and sweet. That is why we wanted to steal him! And no I didn’t photoshop it out I tried to find the clearest spot on the wall to shoot through, used the focal point to focus on JUST HIS FACE so that it would blur out the dirt, and then boosted the contrast in Photoshop. That is why they aren’t as sharp as they could be.

  3. BILL August 1, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    Ahhh.. the Zoo… that’s what I call work. This guy looks like one of our Development Engineers trying to explain why he didn’t provide us with an important piece of information for our procedures… but it’s not his fault!! Nice pics Mindy!!!

    • mindymilburn August 1, 2010 at 11:31 am #

      Thank you Bill, I want to see a photo of this guy from your work lol

  4. Susan August 1, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    These are wonderful! Okay, what’s he doing in the first one, hidden behind those rocks? He looks mighty pleased with himself in the middle one. “Yeah, I’m good”. And is he putting on deodorant in the last one??

    • mindymilburn August 1, 2010 at 11:33 am #

      Thank you, and yes he was hiding peeking over once in a while to grin at us and in the last one he was carrying around some straw under his arm, I have no idea why, but then he took it out and put it in his mouth LOL so gross.

  5. Dijea August 1, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    I think he’s showing his need for a razor. Great shots. The last one really captures personality.

    • mindymilburn August 1, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

      He had loads of personality, he was the cutest little thing.

  6. Stasia August 2, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    Wow. I would never guess you weren’t in the pen with him. Amazing job!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Day 119 – Orangutan « Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project -- Topsy.com - August 1, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by mitzs and Mindy, Dijea. Dijea said: RT @zandria1: Photo Blog Day 119 – Orangutan http://bit.ly/ack1vj <— thus begins my zoo week. #project365 #zoo #photography […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

