Day 118 – The Buckeye Butterfly

31 Jul

Butterflies are had to capture but this particular butterfly has been my nemesis all summer long and I was finally able to capture it. I saw it at the butterfly show in Cincinnati but the poor thing had been torn apart by greedy little children fingers and when he finally held still long enough for me to shoot him some small child stepped in front of my lens so I think caught a pony tail. Then my mom and I found a butterfly haven in a field  and that darn butterfly was taunting me and flying around my head but never landing for long or never landing with his wings spread. I swear it was a conspiracy

My mom and I were out for another one of our drives and she dropped me off on the side of this small field of clover because I saw some butterflies on a random orange flower in the field. I spent a good 10 minutes taking photos and as I turned to leave I saw the Buckeye laying completely still  on this dead flower. I got so excited and started to repeat in my head “don’t move, don’t move” I tip toed up to  this little guy like I was in a bugs bunny cartoon and should have been muttering “be vewwwy quiet…”  He let me get right up on him and never moved and I felt such a sense of accomplishment lol. It was as if he was saying to me “you worked hard enough child, this is a freebie”

All kidding aside I think this butterfly is  just gorgeous, The detail and the colors are simply stunning and I am so happy I was able to finally capture it.

Common Buckeye

Common Buckeye

Common Buckeye

Common Buckeye

10 Responses to “Day 118 – The Buckeye Butterfly”

  1. Susan July 31, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    Wow, that is one beautiful butterfly! Definitely worth all your effort. I can just picture you creeping through a field quietly, eyes on the prize.

    Are you saying they let kids hold (and destroy) butterflies at a butterfly show?

    • mindymilburn July 31, 2010 at 9:52 am #

      LOL, I was very stealthy!

      And yes, I was so disappointed at how they let them be handled. The kids would just grab them by their wings and play with them. All the butterflies there had torn up wings, I have no clue if this is common practice or if their wings mend but it made me very sad.

      The even stranger thing to me was that the parents encouraged this behavior. I think you were supposed to get these little flowers from the staff for them to land on but that is not how it went down at all.

  2. Allison July 31, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    What a beautiful little Buckeye.

    Now you have me hearing Elmer Fudd as I picture you creeping up on it.

    • mindymilburn August 1, 2010 at 11:27 am #

      Thank you 🙂 and so sorry LMAO but that is totally what I felt like.

  3. Swapmeet Louie July 31, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

    Did you ever see the album cover for The Dixie Chicks’ album “Fly?” The letters are made up of letters found on the wings of butterflies.

    Here’s the link: http://www.butterflyalphabet.com/main/index.php

    I’m scared of butterflies, but this one is gorgeous. Nice work!!!

    • mindymilburn August 1, 2010 at 11:27 am #

      Thank you 🙂 it is pretty isn’t it!!

      And thank you for the link and sorry I got confused LOL

  4. Terri Jacobson August 1, 2010 at 1:48 am #

    He’s beautiful. I love butterflies.

    I adore the fun you are having with this. Good for you, that is what it is all about.

    • mindymilburn August 1, 2010 at 11:29 am #

      I do too, I get a little obsessed with taking photos of them 🙂 I do have fun shooting photos, if I didn’t I wouldn’t do it at all.

  5. BILL August 1, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    Nice Flutterby!!!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

