Day 117 – Tea Party

30 Jul

I said to a friend once that anyone with an internet connection can claim to be a music critic now days and unfortunately that trend has become popular in photography as well. I find a lot of articles online about photography and I try to read anything I can get my hands on because I think knowledge is everything and learning from others who are doing what you want to be doing is priceless. Unfortunately, some just use their blogs to look down on the rest of the world from their pedestals that they  have  build for themselves.

A friend of mine on twitter linked to this really snarky, self righteous, pompous jerk who claimed to want to inspire photographers to nurture their passion on his twitter page while simultaneously bashing amateur photographers on his blog. He dedicated an entire post to ripping apart photos that were taken by some of his followers calling them hacks and their work garbage and basically saying his was the only way to do something right. He criticized one reader for using a selective coloring technique because it was tired and overdone but never once gave them ideas on how to incorporate that style and make it her own. Basically it was an entire post to tell the world how awesome he was and how  horrible everyone else was and then he got defensive when the  responses weren’t so pleasant.

I have to say I really dislike people like that. You don’t have to love everything you see by any means but how is being rude and disrespectful inspiring people to follow their dreams? If anything the fact that he  singled out these individuals that follow him looking for the guidance he claims to want to give will probably make them very reluctant to share their work in the future. People like him disgust me and trust me when I say that just because you might make a living taking photographs does not make you an authority or any better than anyone else who aspires to do the same.

In case you haven’t noticed this man really made me angry, I wish I could find the  link again so that you could see for yourself  what a  big douche bag he was but then again I don’t want to give his site any more traffic. Thank goodness I don’t follow him on twitter or I might get childish and send him hate tweets lol!

And now that the venting is over I leave you with a photo of a tea set that my sister keeps at her house for my  nieces to play with when they come over. Is it not the most adorable little thing you have ever seen? I saw it sitting on the patio while I was visiting and I had to get a shot. I would still have tea parties if society wouldn’t judge me 🙂

Tea Party

Tea Party

And this is for that piece of hell “critic” that “inspires” people to never use a technique that has been done before because it is tired. MMHMMM we would never take photographs if that were the case because EVERYTHING has been done before! Wow, I am really  bitter 🙂

Tea Party

Tea Party

23 Responses to “Day 117 – Tea Party”

  1. Laura July 30, 2010 at 12:06 am #

    Wow! Selective coloring AND vignetting all in the same photo. You SUCK! LOL! Just kidding. I agree with you on the judgmental thing. If you can’t be encouraging, then just do your own thing and leave others alone.

    As for these photos, the tea set is precious! And you should have tea parties if they make you feel good. If society judges you, well, then you’re doing something right 😉

    • mindymilburn July 30, 2010 at 12:10 am #

      HAHA I am the worst photographer ever aren’t I 🙂 I don’t even mind judgmental to be honest. What I mind is someone that claims to want to help others and inspire them and THEN the only thing they can muster up is judgment. UGH!

      Will you come to my tea party if I have one?

  2. Beth July 30, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    Do you need me to kick his A$$? Cause I will!! 🙂

    Cute picture! Tea parties are cool, and you know I LOVE selective coloring.

    • mindymilburn July 30, 2010 at 8:11 am #

      LMAO! I wish we knew this guy. I tried forever to find his link again but I got nothing.

      I love it too, I think it is quite pretty 🙂

  3. Swapmeet Louie July 30, 2010 at 7:33 am #

    Would it surprise you if I told you I’m the guy who you’re talking about? Yes, I have my own photography site and I think I’m brilliant and everyone else is not. I actually have that on a custom t-shirt I designed using techniques that I pioneered on Photoshop.. Trust me when I say that even the Photoshop designers didn’t know it could do what I did.

    The link to my site is http://www.yousuckandidontbecauseimawesomeandyourenotbecauseirule.com. I had to throw in the “I rule” part because kanye west had already registered a domain name up to that point. I guess awesome people think alike.

    • mindymilburn July 30, 2010 at 8:14 am #

      So did you like the photo? LOL

      • Swapmeet Louie July 30, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

        OH yes, I did like the pic 🙂 The colors on that tea set are so Miami Vice-ish! It took me a little while to see the difference between the two images LOL. Guess that’s what happens when I do things at 4:30am.

  4. bonniegunkel July 30, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    You’re right Mindy, what a douche bag. At this point in my journey I think it would absolutely crush me if someone did that to me. I mean I love the feedback you ladies give me, and I hope that if a photo of mine makes you (or anyone) think “hmm…if she had done this or that, it would look so much better” I would hope that you (or anyone LOL) would share that information with me, not to be judgmental or criticize, but to help me grow and become a better photographer.

    I love this photo, and I will come to your tea party anytime you decide to have one. 🙂

    • mindymilburn July 30, 2010 at 8:14 am #

      From what I gathered the people that he was bashing were beginners…how awful is that?!?! I love criticism, I think it helps you grow but “garbage” and “hack” is not helpful at all.

      None of us know everything and that is the point of connecting with people, to learn from them and share experiences. Not to crush them. Ugh, he was so stupid.

      And thank you, I thought it was cute myself and we DEFINITELY have to have a tea party 🙂

  5. Bonnie July 30, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    These are adorable photos. 🙂 Makes me want to sit down and have some tea myself!

    There are some people who find the need to make themselves feel better by convincing themselves that everyone else is an idiot. Of course, you know that person just has the wrong idea regarding the identity of the idiot. lol. You’re right though. In all types of art, whether it’s photography, fiction, poetry, music, painting, sculpture, etc, it’s always important to keep an open mind and make an effort to see the beauty of the art from the artist’s perspective. Imagine what would the world would be like if no one’s mind was sufficiently open to appreciate Picasso. Alan Ginsberg, Bertolt Brecht or even Elvis or Motorhead for that matter.

    Keep rockin B)

    • mindymilburn July 31, 2010 at 9:54 am #

      That is all so true Bonnie, I certainly appreciate an open mind more than anything. This guy had to be doing this to make himself feel more powerful, obviously lacking somewhere!

      It makes me smile that all the girls want to have a tea party!!

  6. dpixel365 July 30, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    I love the DOF in this photo… the post editing just enhances it that much more.. well done

  7. Margaret July 30, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    Judgements should not dictate what we do, just who we invite!!! 🙂 Great shots!

  8. Stasia July 30, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    Mom mom has a tea party every other year on the day after thanksgiving for all the women of the family. It’s a lot of fun. The first year we all wore hats that we begged, borrowed, stole, made and bought – and there was some great variety and great photos! The next time was a Pajama party version with hot cocoa & everything.

    So… have a tea party. Why not?

    • mindymilburn July 31, 2010 at 9:55 am #

      I totally want to come to your moms house!!!She sounds like my kind of people.

  9. Dijea July 30, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    I want to have a tea party.

    • mindymilburn July 31, 2010 at 9:55 am #

      Maybe we can have a world wide tea party day 🙂

  10. Ingrid July 31, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    Beautiful tea set. Now all that’s missing is tea sandwichs, scones with strawberry jam.

  11. Allison July 31, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    That guy sounds like a real winner. Not.

    I like selective coloring. Bad photographer!

    I can picture your tea set photo hanging in a little girls room.

    • mindymilburn August 1, 2010 at 11:27 am #

      Aw, thank you 🙂 and yes he was a too, I like selective coloring too. Stupid guy

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

