Day 116 – Pond Scum

29 Jul

My mom and I took a drive to Buffalo Trace Park where they have camping, a lake, and all that outdoorsy stuff I like to watch on tv.  It was a very pretty place and I wouldn’t mind sleeping in one of the cabins that had on site but tents+Mindy=Epic Fail! Yes you guess it, I am an asphalt queen and the country is a foreign place I like to visit and then leave.

We came across this little out-cove in the lake that had a lot of lily pads, dragonflies, and tons of pond scum (and yes this is  the same lake that people swim in…UH NO) but it was a nice place to take some photos. By the way I don’t swim in water that I can’t see the bottom of as a rule so wading into the water to get close-up shots was an absolute no for me so you will have to enjoy the far away view of the dragonflies this time 🙂

I wasn’t so sure if I would find the photos of all the crud at the surface of the water interesting but as it turns out it is one of my favorite shots because of all the patterns and colors that showed through creating something quite beautiful out of something so very yucky. The lily pads were huge and jutting up all over the place so I had to include a shot of those as well. Enjoy!

Dragonflies

Dragonflies

Pond Scum

Pond Scum

Lily Pads

Lily Pads

11 Responses to “Day 116 – Pond Scum”

  1. Laura July 29, 2010 at 12:20 am #

    I really like the pond scum. Pond scum is goooood! LOL! It’s very colorful!

    • mindymilburn July 29, 2010 at 8:54 am #

      It is really quite icky but it made for an interesting shot 🙂

  2. Swapmeet Louie July 29, 2010 at 4:14 am #

    The middle one is VERY cool to look at. The colors remind me of a mosaic… the lily pads look turquoise!

    It’s rare to find beauty in something as rancid as pond scum. Just goes to show you that beauty is and will always be in the eye of the beholder 🙂 OR the camera holder.

    • mindymilburn July 29, 2010 at 8:56 am #

      They do look turquoise and I couldn’t figure out why, they didn’t look that way in person. Beauty is definitely found in the eye of the camera holder 🙂

  3. Susan July 29, 2010 at 6:17 am #

    Pond Scum rules!

    People were swimming in there?

    • mindymilburn July 29, 2010 at 8:55 am #

      Well they weren’t swimming RIGHT there but still! That is just gross.

  4. dpixel365 July 29, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    Beautiful collection.. I especially love the Lily Pads..

  5. Dijea July 29, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    We are twins! I don’t swim in water I can’t see the bottom of either. For me it comes from living on the ocean and getting caught in a school of mull – then I was swimming in a river and pulled a water moccasin out of the river on my leg when I got out. ~shivers~

    The last shot is my favorite.

  6. BILL August 1, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    POND SCUM? Not a very appealing title!

    Hou about…

    [IMG]http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a291/CAMPFIRESKY/PrimordialSoupPPR.jpg[/IMG]

    • mindymilburn August 1, 2010 at 11:34 am #

      Primordial soup HAHAH you are a funny guy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Day 116 – Pond Scum « Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project -- Topsy.com - July 29, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by TheFrontloader.com, Mindy. Mindy said: Photo Blog Day 116 – Pond Scum http://bit.ly/a4DfLt #proect365 #photography […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

