Day 115 – Night Bridge

28 Jul

My love of bridges and night shots has once again reared its ugly head but I really love this shot so I had to share it.

I had the exposure time set to 10 seconds because I wanted to see what effect that would have on the water and it turned out really cool in my humble opinion. I love the colors and obviously the bridge looks beautiful lit up at night but it is the movement in the water that really catches my eye. I also find it intriguing  that there were certain spots in the water that seem clear so that would mean there wasn’t much movement in the water in those particular spots. It was an interesting experiment and I hope you enjoy the photo!

SHOUT OUT: Today’s shout out is going to one of my favorite music sites www.thefrontloader.com. If you are a music fan you will want to add this site to your bookmarks as it consistently offers new artists, fantastic rare recordings,  and some of the best boots anywhere on the  net. TheFrontloader is constantly adding new categories to make it your one stop shop for your daily music needs so be sure to check it out or just  follow them on twitter @thefrontloader

19 Responses to “Day 115 – Night Bridge”

  1. Terri Jacobson July 28, 2010 at 1:42 am #

    This is a beauty for sure.

    Your humble opinion is dead on. Nice shot Mindy.

  2. Susan July 28, 2010 at 6:56 am #

    Another winner, kiddo. The water does draw your eye.

  3. SHAZnyc July 28, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    I love the reflections of the lights on the surface of the water.

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

      I love reflections shots too, I can’t get enough of them.

  4. Dijea July 28, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    Mindy, this is amazing. Really amazing.

  5. Kimmy July 28, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    This is really beautiful. The repetition, the beautiful colors, the reflection off the water. That purple just really makes this photo pop 🙂

  6. Allison July 28, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    Beautiful.

    Time for me to get out at night.

  7. Leslie July 28, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    Really great shot. The colors and saturation are great

  8. Margaret July 28, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    Amazing shot… love the reflection! I NEED to get out and shoot at night!

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

      Thank you so much, again I lucked out with the scene, it was a beautiful night. Looking forward to your night shots!

  9. Swapmeet Louie July 28, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    That is a gorgeous shot! The colors are beautiful… especially the purple! Bridges are always sweet to shoot (with a camera). Was the camera on a tripod? I’d love to see this shot without any movement at all except for the water!

    Thank you for the shout out 🙂 I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the site and hope I can continue to bring you good music!

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

      Why thank you…but what other movement are you talking about. The camera was perfectly still so I hope the only movement I captured was that of the water. Maybe the blur of the water is giving the illusion that the other stuff is blurred but it isn’t I promise.

      • Swapmeet Louie July 29, 2010 at 4:15 am #

        Maybe it’s just my eyes, then… but the bridge looks blurred! It might be an illusion, yes…

        Doesn’t take away from my enjoyment of the shot, though!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

