Day 114 – A Plethora of Sunflowers

27 Jul

I am issuing a warning right now about the onslaught of photos I am about to post. I couldn’t choose just one so you get a lot. Just be glad I didn’t post them all.

I love sunflowers,  they are my second favorite flower (calla lilies are my first just in case any of you want to send me flowers! ) and I remember when I was younger and the first time I saw a bunch of them growing in a yard and how they towered over my  head. I thought they were spectacular. As I got older and started seriously getting into photography I thought about those flowers and hunted everywhere in my surrounding area to find some to shoot like the ones I saw when I was young…well I FINALLY found some.

I got so excited when I saw these flowers growing in someones yard that I totally ignored the huge sign on the fence and trespassed anyway. I took about 50 shots of different angles, grouping and focal lengths. I couldn’t stop. They are so beautiful and bring back such a good memory that I could have stood there all day clicking away. Thankfully  no one came out with a shot gun to shoo me away and I think the photos turned out perfect with the beautiful blue sky framing them. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed finding them.

29 Responses to “Day 114 – A Plethora of Sunflowers”

  1. Swapmeet Louie July 27, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    Those are some big-ass flowers. I’m currently munching on sunflower seeds that probably came from flowers that big.

    The middle one on the right grabs me. I like how the flower is cut off… very coolio!

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

      The middle one on the right is a product of photoshop lol It looked nothing like that raw, so yay for photoshop!

  2. bonniegunkel July 27, 2010 at 7:45 am #

    I love sunflowers too, you just can’t help but smile when you see them. These photos are awesome, you’re right, the blue sky against the bright yellow is stunning. And you know I do love me some flower photos 😉

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

      Thank you dear, flowers are too gorgeous to pass up so I say shoot away!

  3. Christopher Shiner July 27, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    All the sunflower photos are stunning! Lol. I knew about her love of sunflowers, so I also knew that if she found any to shoot she would go a bit buck wild. My absolute favorites are the top left one (first one) and the right one in the second row. The framing, the way the blue blurred sky is such a stark and beautiful contrast to the sunflower in the foreground, these shots belong on postcards or in catalogs. They are so good!

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

      You are so sweet and thank you for passing these around your work MWAH!!

  4. Jackie July 27, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    Gorgeous! My favs are the middle one with the sky behind and the second with the bug/bee in the center.

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

      Yes that is a bee lol, he was a big sucker 🙂

  5. Laura July 27, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    I really like the first and second one. The contrasts are stunning! Sunflowers make me smile too 🙂

  6. Beth July 27, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Very pretty!!!! I like all of them. So how many of these am I gonna see framed and on your wall at home. I remember your love of sunflowers from when we were kiddos. I seem to remember a framed poster or picture of some kind in your room, and all of the other sunflower thingys. Am I right or did I dream this?

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

      If I ever get around to framing shots there will be a sunflower one 🙂 and yes I did have a big framed poster…you know who got that for me??? REMIND ME TO TELL YOU!

  7. Margaret July 27, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    Wonderful images! Especially love the middle on the right.. close up and partially out of the frame, stunning! What made you shoot this particular image, any special thoughts?

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

      Thank you, I am not sure if the framing was any forethought I was just trying to get every angle of the flower because I think it is so beautiful.

  8. Dijea July 27, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    The colors are amazing & so vivid. Excellent, excellent shots.

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

      Thank you sweetie, nature did all the work, I was very lucky.

  9. Susan July 27, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    Top right … did you capture another frickin’frackin’ bee? You should have seen me the other night trying to get a bee picture to no avail. I think that one is my favorite.

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:43 pm #

      Yep that is another bee, lol I wasn’t trying to get him but he wouldn’t get out of my shot 🙂

  10. Ken Shane July 27, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    Beautiful work Mindy. I love the contrast between the yellow of the sunflowers and the blue of the sky.

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:43 pm #

      Thank you so much Ken, that was my favorite part about the shoot as well. The sky really set me up for some beautiful shots.

  11. Fernando July 27, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    Mindy, it would certainly be impossible to choose just one photo! They were fantastic, and was lucky to find them in such a beautiful day, the contrast was exuberant. I hope you find many other childhood memories to show for us. Kisses!

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

      Thank you my wonderful friend, you are so very sweet!

  12. Terri Jacobson July 28, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    Beautiful sunflowers. Last year we came across a farm that acres and acres of them.

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

      ACRES?!?! Oh I would have been there all darn day lol.

  13. SHAZnyc July 28, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    A lovely group. I like all of them.

  14. Allison July 28, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    Love sunflowers.

    My favorite one is the second one in the second row. The sky looks like it’s navy blue. Is that one underexposed? I’d love to have that one on my wall!!

    • mindymilburn July 28, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

      Thank you Ally, let me know if you want the high res one I will email it to you 🙂

      • Allison July 28, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

        Yes, please!!

        And, the same goes right back atcha, Mindy. Just let me know.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

