Day 113 – Tiger or Dragonfly?

26 Jul

Okay, yes I can tell the difference but have you ever seen a dragonfly with wings that look like tiger stripes and possibly some leopard spots? WELL I HAVEN’T!!!! I thought all dragonflies were black with transparent wings, who knew there were different varieties? I only wish you could have seen my face when I spotted this little guy.

My mom and I were out for one of our photo drives and we pulled off on a side road a little ways out of town to see what nature had to offer. I spotted some cattails and decided I wanted to stop and take a photo with the gorgeous sky in the background. I got out of the car and walked across the road and started shooting when I noticed a bunch of butterflies in the fields just over the embankment from where I was standing and as I turned to tell my mom I spotted these stripped wings flitting about. At that moment I had NO idea what it was all I knew is that I wasn’t close enough to even attempt to shoot it with my 18-55mm lens so I take off flying to the car screaming “GET THE LENS! GET THE LENS” and I see my mom scurrying to grab my bag, she hands me every lens but the one I need and we are both frantic (only she has no clue what I am frantic about). While she tries to get my 75-300mm lens free from the bag I am yelling over my shoulder at this thing “DON’T MOVE!! I AM COMING RIGHT BACK!”

Might I remind you that I still don’t even know what it is because I am too far away 🙂 Needless to say all the dramatics wasn’t necessary because it held its pose while I took about 10 shots but for me it was all so very worth it. I love this capture. It is my favorite photo of the day, and I got some good shots. I hope you enjoy! You guys  ever acted like a fool to get a shot only to realize you might have been over dramatizing the situation just a tad?

Yellow Winged Dragonfly

Yellow Winged Dragonfly

Yellow Winged Dragonfly

Yellow Winged Dragonfly

I am posting two because I think one shows the wings a little better while the other is sharper on the body.

22 Responses to “Day 113 – Tiger or Dragonfly?”

  1. Terri Jacobson July 26, 2010 at 1:55 am #

    He is a very cute little guy.

    You must be a hoot to go out shooting with. :o)))

    • mindymilburn July 26, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

      Thank you!

      And yes I think I am quite funny:)

  2. Susan July 26, 2010 at 6:30 am #

    Oh, is that a body? I thought it was a HUGE penis. What a beautiful dragonfly! I’ve never really “looked” at one before.

    Well, MindyLu, all the dramatics were well worth it, these shots are truly amazing. The kind you see in magazines, you know, the ones professionals take.

    • mindymilburn July 26, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

      You seriously make me laugh and then you say the bestest things to me and make me feel like I can do anything. Thank you!!!

  3. Allison July 26, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    LMAO, Susan!

    What a gorgeous shot, Mindy!

  4. Beth July 26, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    Wow that is a cool dragon fly. I wish I would have been with you, if only to see the dramatics. I would have got a great laugh out of that 🙂

    • mindymilburn July 26, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

      You would have laughed at me or been too busy trying to shoot it yourself LOL

  5. Jackie July 26, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    I love dragonflies but never actually knew their detail. The arms look like little arms and it looks like he is wearing headphones. Gorgeous!

    • mindymilburn July 26, 2010 at 11:41 am #

      Headphones LOL it so does. Thank you Jackie!

  6. Laura July 26, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    What a great capture. And no, no I have never over-dramatized a photo op…. *whistles*

    (Hey, Kim, remember that time in Columbus in the cold of February 2006? LOL!)

    • mindymilburn July 26, 2010 at 11:41 am #

      Thank you…ok now I want to hear the story 🙂

      • Susan July 26, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

        You were there, my dear. Well not at the photo op, but at the event.

  7. Dijea July 26, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    Wonderful capture.

  8. Swapmeet Louie July 26, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    Hey, that’s the #%^@ butterfly that tried to kill me the other day! Butterflies FREAK me out. I can feel it on me right now!

    You’re that “Crazy Picture Taking Lady” that people are only whispering about in the back rooms of illegal butterfly-picture-taking clubs, aren’t you?

    I know it’s not a stinger, but LOOK AT THAT STINGER!

  9. Sharon July 26, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    Oh, that’s so cool!! I’ve never seen one of those. Nice pics!! I wanna be just like you when me and my camera grow up!!

  10. Margaret July 27, 2010 at 12:22 am #

    Great captures… never seen one those!

  11. bonniegunkel July 27, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    Well you and I have already talked about how awesome I think this photo is, but I wanted to come by and say it anyway. 🙂

  12. dpixel365 July 29, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    WOW!! very good captures…

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

