Day 111 – Trailing Lights

24 Jul

I have been wanting to set up to do some long exposures at an overpass for quite some time now and I finally got the chance tonight. The particular highway that I shot isn’t as busy as the first place I wanted to go and set up at but it was more easily accessible. I hope to finally get a shot from my first choice of location but I am rather pleased with how this one turned out.

I had my shutter speed on 30 second and the aperture was set to f22. I wanted to obviously get the trailing head and tail lights without over exposing all the ambient light surrounding the highway. I love night shots and long exposure, there is just so much you can do with it so I encourage you to give it a shot if you haven’t ventured out into the world of manual settings, you won’t regret it.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Trailing Lights

Trailing Lights

24 Responses to “Day 111 – Trailing Lights”

  1. Swapmeet Louie July 24, 2010 at 3:06 am #

    I love long exposure shots like this! Those car lights just go on and on and on… so cool!

    Do more!

    • mindymilburn July 25, 2010 at 12:30 am #

      I WILL!! lol

      Thank you 🙂 Now lets see your long exposure shots!

  2. BILL July 24, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    I love time exposures. (I still have to tell you my Paris story)(Place not person). Time is funny stuff. Probably why I love photography.. it’s snapshots in time.

    I had stumbled on some pictures of Nashville. One was called River Of Lights. It was really cool. There was also a really gnarley picture at night, in B&W. (hope the link works)

    http://flickriver.com/places/United+States/Tennessee/Nashville/Downtown/

    • mindymilburn July 25, 2010 at 12:31 am #

      You just reminded me of me…read my tag line at the top 🙂

      Looking forward to the Paris story, and SOO jealous that you have a Paris story.

      Those Nash photos are AMAZING!!

  3. bonniegunkel July 24, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    That is awesome! I wonder if my dinky camera will do that? LOL

    • Beth July 24, 2010 at 11:49 am #

      Bonnie my dinky camera did, so I am sure your will.

      • mindymilburn July 25, 2010 at 12:32 am #

        Thank you and I am sure it will.

  4. Susan July 24, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    What a beautiful shot, the lights look like stars! I see the red are tail lights and the white are head lights (puffs on and polishes fingernails on jammies for figuring that out ;-))but .. but .. pardon my stupidity once again .. where are the cars? Stop laughing at me, I’m being serious. Do they just not come out with these settings? Did you whisk them away with your magic?

    You didn’t bump into any of those idiots who throw paint and bricks at cars from overpasses, did you?

    • BILL July 24, 2010 at 10:41 am #

      The cars have move into a different dimension of space/time. If you were moving at the same speed of the cars, in the same plane, you would see them.. but then the lights would disappear. The people in the cars are also not there.. (or are they??….)

      • mindymilburn July 25, 2010 at 12:33 am #

        LMAO I didn’t whisk them out but Ally is right. They keep moving out of the frame but leave behind the trail of lights.

        Thank you and no I didn’t see any idiots, just me LMAO!

  5. Allison July 24, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    Love the shot, Mindy!!

    Hope you don’t mind me answering, Susan. With the long exposure time and the movement of the cars, all you see of them is the headlights/taillights. The cars are there, you just can’t see them.

  6. Fernando July 24, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    I love the night shots. Its very good, I confess that I still have a little trouble with the lights environment, lack of expertise in a little manual configuration. But nothing more exciting than getting a lot of time photographing the night! Beijos!

    • mindymilburn July 25, 2010 at 12:34 am #

      I have trouble with the night environment too but I just practice practice. Thank you for the compliment my friend.

  7. Dijea July 24, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    Great job!

  8. lrlee July 24, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    Try doing it from a car moving on the freeway. As a passenger, not the driver 🙂 The lights are not smooth and you don’t get the buildings. But I’ve gotten some really crazy looking shots.

    • mindymilburn July 25, 2010 at 12:34 am #

      LMAO!! Leslie you just made me crack up that you clarified that I do it as the passenger! I will try this technique!

  9. Margaret July 24, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    I love night shots and long exposures! Great image! I keep wanting to do this, I’m sure I will eventually, hopefully sooner rather than later.

    • mindymilburn July 25, 2010 at 12:35 am #

      Thank you! I look forward to seeing your shots.

  10. Laura July 24, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    Outstanding! If this wasn’t your ideal spot, I look forward to seeing the shot from that one, because this one is so full of light and movement that I can’t imagine finding a much better spot.

    • mindymilburn July 25, 2010 at 12:35 am #

      Why thank you! I don’t think the spot is better but the traffic is heavier so the results will be much more pronounced.

  11. Ingrid July 25, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    Awesome capture. love the trails and the starbursts.

  12. dpixel365 July 29, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    I love long time exposures…
    This is very well captured

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

