Day 109 – Margaritaville

22 Jul

My hatred of shooting food is gone so I thought I would use one a my food shots to celebrate that accomplishment for today’s photo.

We had a nice evening seeing my niece Jenn play music with her band (she is fabulous by the way) and as the drinks and food were being served I of course had to pull the camera out to start shooting. I really like the composition and depth of field on the bread sticks shot and the solo margarita photo cracks me up because it looks like it is either as big as my niece who is standing behind it on stage or she is as small as the glass is. I love how perspective can change so much in photo.

At one point one of the younger boys that was there with us walked over to me and said “you really take pictures of the strangest stuff” and I explained to him that I find beauty and interest everywhere, not just in the obvious. In true teenage boy fashion he replied with a resounded “cool.”

I hope you are able to find interest and beauty in the mundane and ordinary. It makes the world a much more interesting place.

Tiny People or Jumbo Margarita?

Tiny People or Jumbo Margarita?

Garlic Makes the World Go Round

Garlic Makes the World Go Round

12 Responses to “Day 109 – Margaritaville”

  1. Swapmeet Louie July 22, 2010 at 12:47 am #

    Huge margarita. Always huge margarita.

    Garlic DOES make the world go round… and it kills Vampires. Go figure.

    Cool.

    • mindymilburn July 22, 2010 at 10:43 am #

      But I like vampires.

      • Swapmeet Louie July 22, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

        But they’re out to drink your blood and make you the undead! I wouldn’t like that at all!

  2. Susan July 22, 2010 at 5:39 am #

    5:30 AM and I could go for a cocktail and dipped-in-sauce garlic bread sticks. Never underestimate the power of your pictures, Mindylu. Mundane and ordinary? Never.

  3. Jeff Vrabel July 22, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    Margarita-themed picture = I approve highly

  4. SHAZnyc July 22, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    I can use a Jumbo Margarita right now. nice shot.

  5. Dijea July 22, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    I could use one of those. I have a food & people phobia. I am slowly getting out of the people….sl…ow….ly. Next I will conquer food. Maybe I should have one of those first?

  6. Beth July 22, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    I love it!!

  7. Ingrid July 23, 2010 at 12:52 am #

    Great shot. That garlic bread looks so good.

  8. Terri Jacobson July 23, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    The shot with the garlic bread looks great. I love the DoF. However, given the week I’m living, bring on that giant margarita!

  9. Laura July 24, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    I haven’t figured a way to make food interesting in my photography, but you certainly have. Love both photos, and really enjoy the perspective in the margarita shot.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

