Day 108 – Don’t Rain On My Parade

21 Jul

I know you are thinking to yourself  “NOT ANOTHER BARN!” and to that I say yes, yes it is another barn and you WILL like it 🙂 I can’t help myself, I see them and they call out to me in this little tempting voice “Mindy, come photograph me, you are a princess and we worship you.” Now tell me, who could argue with logic like that from an inanimate object?

I chose this shot because the barn and the grass look so green and lively and the sky looks so dark and dreary that I thought it added a  nice contrast as if the barn was saying “you aren’t going to ruin  my day rain!” In my world barns talk a lot. I did some color boosting and added an unsharp mask in photoshop and this is the end results. Enjoy!

Don't Rain On My Parade

Don't Rain On My Parade

SHOUT OUT: First I would like to thank my friend Terri Jacobson for being so supportive of my photo blog, and then I would like to tell the rest of you to check out her amazing photo blog here. I have made a lot of connections with fellow photographers through twitter and Terri is one of those awesome people. She constantly inspires me with her amazing work and that makes me work even harder to be a better photographer, plus I really covet her macro lens 🙂 Please stop by and check out her blog!

21 Responses to “Day 108 – Don’t Rain On My Parade”

  1. Laura July 21, 2010 at 12:24 am #

    Not another barn! And a talking one at that! LOL! As always, this is an excellent photograph. I like the green that is under the eaves at the top of the barn wall. It ties in with the grass so nicely. You really will have to create a barn calendar at this rate!

  2. Swapmeet Louie July 21, 2010 at 4:06 am #

    You know, that pic looks scarier than the Hitchcock one from yesterday. There’s something about the barn that looks misplaced. It’s so weathered compared to everything else… I don’t mind the sky, and the green is lovely… but the barn… just somewhere I would NOT go into, even if the microfilm of who really shot JFK were sitting right in the middle of it on a table with a big arrow pointing to the microfilm labeled “Who Really Shot JFK? Take a Look!”

    Yeah, a barn calendar would be barn-a-licious!

  3. Susan July 21, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    Well that’s pretty funny, because I wondered what that barn would have looked like if you had used the same technique you used yesterday on the Hitchcock church before I read Tommy’s comment. Your barns kick ass!

  4. Fernando July 21, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    I hope the barns continue to call you! Minnndy … hahaha … is a beautiful picture, congratulations! Beijo!

    • mindymilburn July 22, 2010 at 10:39 am #

      Thank you my friend, i am a tad obsessed with them 🙂

  5. BILL July 21, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Looks like a place they take you for a whooping with a willow switch.. LOL (barns are cool, each with their own personality)

    • mindymilburn July 22, 2010 at 10:40 am #

      whooping LOL that made me laugh. It is funny how differently people interpret photos. I only saw beauty and positivity in this barn.

  6. dpixel365 July 21, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    Stunning colors. So vibrant.. Very well composed…

  7. Jon July 21, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    Lovely barn, and lovely colors. Very nice!!

  8. KJ July 21, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    First time I’ve seen your blog, and your photos are really, really great!

    • mindymilburn July 22, 2010 at 10:42 am #

      Thank you so much for finding me and for commenting!

  9. Dijea July 21, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    Absolutely fabulous. I love your barns!

  10. Allison July 21, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    I *DO* like barns, I swear!!

    • mindymilburn July 22, 2010 at 10:43 am #

      LOL!!! Then I won’t have to get out my switch.

  11. Terri Jacobson July 22, 2010 at 1:43 am #

    First off, thank you so much for the shout out, you totally rock. Inspiration goes both ways, I walk away from your images wowed quite often.

    Your barn is beautiful, love the skies.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Day 108 – Don’t Rain On My Parade « Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project -- Topsy.com - July 21, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by mitzs, TheFrontloader.com and Mindy, Pixel. Pixel said: Love the vibrant color RT @zandria1 Photo Blog Day 108 – Don't Rain On My Parade http://bit.ly/bSu5r6 #project365 #photography […]

  2. Twitted by ingridew - July 22, 2010

    […] This post was Twitted by ingridew […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

