Day 107 – Channeling Hitchcock

20 Jul

“Give them pleasure – the same pleasure they have when they wake up from a nightmare.” –  Alfred Hitchcock

I am not sure who turned me on to Hitchcock’s films or if I discovered them on my own but my young adult years were spent catching every horror film I could get my hands on (that my mom would let me watch) and his were among some of my favorites. He took suspense to a new level by using lighting, camera angles, and music to build fear in the audience until you were literally sitting on the edge of your seat in anticipation of what was going to happen next.

As was looking through my photos for the day I came across one of church sitting slightly uphill from the camera off center and immediately I envisioned the final image and “Hitchcock” was the way I described it to myself in my head. I wanted it to be reminiscent of the old black and white films and pay tribute to  the feel of an Alfred Hitchcock film and I think it turned out exactly as I imagined it. I hope you enjoy my creation.

For more on Hitchcock click here

Channeling Hitchcock

Channeling Hitchcock

26 Responses to “Day 107 – Channeling Hitchcock”

  1. Terri Jacobson July 20, 2010 at 12:23 am #

    Nice! And yes, it is very Hitchcocky.

    • mindymilburn July 20, 2010 at 9:12 am #

      Thank you 🙂 Hitchcocky, that made me smile!

  2. Jackie July 20, 2010 at 1:28 am #

    Oh girl, you did exactly what you set out to do. It’s mysterious, and just creepy enough that if I were on that road seeing that church with those ominous clouds, I would make a quick u-turn and hit the gas pedal. Good job!

    • mindymilburn July 20, 2010 at 9:12 am #

      Well yay me, that is what I was going for! Thank you so much for always commenting and encouraging me. I love you bunches!

  3. Swapmeet Louie July 20, 2010 at 2:52 am #

    That’s an AWESOME pic! How did you do that????

    If I came across that church, I’d first check to see if the front pew had some microfilm that revealed JFK’s true killer, then I’d haul ass outta there while splashing holy water on me ala flashdance.

    Nice job and how did you do that????

    • mindymilburn July 20, 2010 at 9:13 am #

      I told you it was a “Thomas Shot” 🙂 I guess you will have to wait for our Photoshop lesson!

  4. Susan July 20, 2010 at 3:51 am #

    How did you do that?? Wow, you hit the nail right on the head, this could so be in one of his productions. Hitchcock had a television show I was addicted to when I was young and I think you can still see episodes if you google “Alfred Hitchcock Presents”. Man was a genius at his thing, so are you.

  5. mindymilburn July 20, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I watched that show too!! Or at least reruns of it. I loved it! You just called me a genius….man alive I love you 😀

  6. Allison July 20, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Awesome Photoshop effect!!

    I wouldn’t want to be stuck there after dark!

    • mindymilburn July 20, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

      LOL, it was really a lovely little place 🙂

  7. Fernando July 20, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    Hello, darling! Does little to accompany your project, but I’m amazed by the beautiful images it produces! That I got scared just watching, I do not like anything horror films, I am impressed and do not sleep! Hahahaha. Beijos!

    • mindymilburn July 20, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

      Why thank you my friend! You are too kind and I really appreciate it. Hugs!

      Gracias a mi amigo! Es usted muy amable y se lo agradezco mucho. Abrazos!

  8. Dijea July 20, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    Yes, it has a very eery feeling to it. You have an excellent eye.

  9. BILL July 20, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Wow.. this is the church that Mrs Norma Bates attends and where little Norman was baptized! I almost expect MOTHER to come down the front path.

    BTW – Hitchcock used lots of chocolate syrup too!!!

    • mindymilburn July 22, 2010 at 10:37 am #

      LOL, my friend Chris said the same thing 🙂

  10. Elizabeth July 20, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    Wow! I can hear creepy organ music playing in the background when I look at this shot! Girl, you’re gonna be FAMOUS someday – you’re THAT good!

  11. Laura July 21, 2010 at 12:20 am #

    I don’t like horror films, but I never really thought of Hitchcock as horror. To me, he was more a psychological thriller type filmmaker. He messed with your mind until you truly were glad the movie was over. But you always wanted to go back and watch it again.

    This photo really does tell a story–like what evil thing happened at this church? Your mind immediately goes to all kinds of bad things. That’s the sign of a great photo. It gets your mind thinking about the what-ifs.

  12. SHAZnyc July 21, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    Very spooky, love the treatment you gave the photo.

    • mindymilburn July 22, 2010 at 10:41 am #

      Thank you Sharron, I am glad I could actually remember how to do it lol

  13. Dopeburger July 21, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    this is so rad. i truly love this project you’ve got going on. thanks again!

  14. Jon July 21, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Great texture. Very nice treatment. The texture really brings out the Hitchcocky feeling (if I can steal that from earlier comments). 🙂

    • mindymilburn July 22, 2010 at 10:42 am #

      LOL Hitchcocky is catching on!

      Thank you Jon, I am so glad my vision came to life and is appreciated.

  15. dpixel365 July 29, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    Amazing effect and well captured scene

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

