Day 104 – Black Picket Fences

17 Jul

We all knew it wouldn’t be long before I found another  barn to shoot and this one came out of nowhere. First off my mom absolutely loves the barns with advertisement on them so any time I see one I have to photograph it, secondly it is partially black which I love because most barns around here are just plain gray,  and finally it had that  broken down look to it so it was the trifecta for me.

I love the green landscape in contrast with the dark blacks in the barn and fence as well as the addition of the blue in the sky. All in all I was pretty happy with the way this turned out and proud that I resisted the urge to convert it to B&W 🙂

Black Picket Fence

Black Picket Fence

17 Responses to “Day 104 – Black Picket Fences”

  1. Swapmeet Louie July 17, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    Man, how do you get the colors so vibrant? I mean, the green is SO green it’s crazy green! Love the colors!

    That barn looks like my house. No, really. It does. Be afraid.

    • mindymilburn July 19, 2010 at 12:19 am #

      Contrast boost. That makes the green greener I guess.

  2. Susan July 17, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Mindy, this is such an interesting and awesome pictures on so many levels! How in the world do you find these things in the first place and then manage to make them so vivid we can imagine being there ourselves. Thank goodness you resisted the B&W urge!! I wonder how old it is. We have lots of tobacco barns here too but all they say is stuff like “I fucked Mary” or “Susie loves Beau” … Anyways, this is another one for your show.

    • mindymilburn July 19, 2010 at 12:20 am #

      Susie loves Beau HAHAHAH so funny,

      Thank you Susan, you are just so damn awesome I can’t stand it. I just drive around looking for things to shoot every time I am out and sometimes I get lucky!

  3. Terri Jacobson July 17, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    Oh Mindy. This is a beauty. That barn is without a doubt your best find yet.

  4. Jon July 17, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Very nicely composed. I like this a lot!

  5. Dijea July 17, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    I love this – beautiful.

  6. SHAZnyc July 18, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    Nice shot of this old barn, great angle of the fence.

  7. Paul R. Giunta July 19, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    Great framing! I really like the lines and angles here.

  8. Sharon H July 19, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Lots of “character” in this shot! I’m glad you chose to keep the color. The red on the roof adds interest to an already stunning pic, imo.

    • mindymilburn July 20, 2010 at 8:54 am #

      I am prone to turn everything B&W but sometimes you just know you better not touch it lol Thank you for the nice compliments Sharon, you are too sweet!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ray J – Let’s Play House lyrics - July 18, 2010

    […] Day 104 – Black Picket Fences « Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

