Day 102 – Now That’s A Big Bee

15 Jul

I literally got obsessed with this bee when I spotted it while out taking photos because it was huge! I mean seriously huge! It was the size of my thumb, and I couldn’t take my eyes off of it so I kept trying to get closer & closer… then it dawned on me that HEY this thing can sting you dumb ass take a step back. So the smart me won out and I stopped stalking the king kong bee but it really was the largest bee I have ever seen in my life.

I know I abandoned the clouds theme and I do apologize but sometimes you just have to shoot what you find and it was hard to ignore that huge sucker. The fact that it wasn’t scared of me at all should have sent warning flares up big time, but I am glad I got a good shot as proof so when I talk about the mammoth sized bee that I encountered I have proof πŸ™‚ Have you ever seen something like that and wished you had a camera to prove the story you knew people wouldn’t believe?

That's A Big Bee

That's A Big Bee

I just wanted to take a moment to thank all of you for your kind words on my change post as well as my post dedicated to my father, you guys really mean a lot to me and I thank you so much for going on this journey with me.

16 Responses to “Day 102 – Now That’s A Big Bee”

  1. Terri Jacobson July 15, 2010 at 12:46 am #

    My experience with bees has been that it is impossible to get them to keep still. You are lucky he lit.

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

      I took about 1o shots lol so I worked for it. He was just too darn big to move around much!

  2. Sharon July 15, 2010 at 2:33 am #

    Looks like a B-52 bomber!

  3. Jackie July 15, 2010 at 4:37 am #

    Ok, you got close enough to get the fuzzy yellow and fuzzy white on his back and the veins in his wings! I hope you were far away with a very very long lens. This is a gorgeous shot of a very large bee. Goodness girl!

    Honey I would go on any journey with you, anytime, anywhere.

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

      Thank you for the compliment and thank you for being you. I love you Jackie!

  4. Susan July 15, 2010 at 6:13 am #

    Wow, and you got his face stuffed in that flower sucking every last drop of nectar. If that’s a honey bee he must be the biggest supplier around. It’s even got fur like King Kong. Great shot!

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

      Why thank you, he was definitely getting his fill that day lol

  5. Stasia July 15, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    I once met Jimmy Carter. I knew no one would believe me but I didn’t have a camera with me. I finally took a picture with my phone, but by the time I got it out and took the shot, he had turned his head. So my proof that I met Jimmy Carter is the back of some old dude’s head! πŸ˜‰

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

      LOL! See, don’t you just hate that. Camera phones really have made my life much bettr in that respect but you still miss things.

  6. Laura July 15, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Mindy, I had gotten SO tired of seeing things I wished I’d had my camera for that it helped inspire me to start a blog. LOL! This is a great shot. You have more patience than I do. And the photo is beautiful. I hope you’re printing these out and displaying them. They are certainly worthy!

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

      Thank you so much Laura! I did have the patience of a saint with that darn thing and I ended up with bug bites all over my legs lol

      I have been printing out some of the photos but not all, and thank you for the compliment.

  7. Swapmeet Louie July 15, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    That’s a huge fuckin’ bee. If I saw it I’d run away. But first I’d take a step back, put a strand of straw ‘tween my teeth, tilt my cowboy hat back, spit into the spittoon, then say to whoever is within earshot, “That’s a huge fuckin’ bee.”

  8. Fernando July 15, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    I live in a city that is known as “The place where everything is bigger,” called Itu. Here the people playing with the tourists. Well, if this bee was in Brazil, certainly would say it’s a bee in Itu. Sorry if there are any mistakes, I’m using the automatic translation. Big hug!

    • mindymilburn July 16, 2010 at 12:47 am #

      Thank you for sharing that story, it made me smile and no worries about mistakes at all my friend. Hug right back to you!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

