Day 101 – Change is Coming

14 Jul

I have been thinking a lot about change in the last few weeks and what I need to change in my life to take a step closer to who I envision myself to be, and while I absolutely hate change I know I am overdue.  It could be something small or it could be something major, I just know that I am restless and ready for the next chapter. Do any of you feel this way? I know that is a crazy question because  I am sure we all have, I think I just want to know what you did about it. Did you wait for it to pass  or did you take it as an opportunity?

For me nothing symbolizes change quite like a butterfly for the obvious physical transformation it goes through in its life, but also because of the difference in the way people react to this creature once the metamorphosis is complete. There is a shift in perception, attitude, and appreciation once the beautiful wings take form and I think this may just be the kind of change I am hoping to find. I worked hard to get a photo of this Zebra Butterfly (and no I have no clue if that is a real thing but that is what I named it) because it flitted about like a person on a mission looking for something they couldn’t seem to find, and while I related to that feeling all to well I have never worked so hard to take a picture!

I will leave you with my inspiration and hope that you will leave me with some stories of changes that you have made that have completely turned your world around for better or worse.

Change is Coming

Change is Coming

31 Responses to “Day 101 – Change is Coming”

  1. Terri Jacobson July 14, 2010 at 12:50 am #

    Nice.

    Change is good, especially when you have control.

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

      Ah but I see all change as not having control cause it scares me lol But I do see your point.

  2. Jon July 14, 2010 at 1:08 am #

    Great photo – and I agree, change is good. Even if it sucks while it happens.

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

      I tend to agree with that Jon, you usually find out after that it was the best thing to happen to you.

  3. Swapmeet Louie July 14, 2010 at 2:15 am #

    You of all people should know that the past two years have been all about change for me. I’ve changed everything except for my underwear and I think that’s due as well.

    But you know what? What I once fought I now embrace. That may not seem obvious to the people closest to me, but since I’ve accepted change, I’ve been happier and more focused… at least I think I have!

    The secret is to do exactly what you said… take it as an opportunity. Spit into the wind. Tug on Superman’s cape… you never know what can happen. Maybe Superman will say to you, “I respect your courage. After I kick your ass, I’ll bestow you with the crown jewels of Krypton!” (he’ll then start pulling his tights off. HAHA!)

    You just never know unless you try.

    And you’ll never commit to trying unless you have no options.

    Your only option is change, Mindy. Run with it and we’ll all be there at the finish line cheering you on.

    • Swapmeet Louie July 14, 2010 at 2:17 am #

      P.S. – nice pic!

      • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

        Thank you, I know you had change forced on you and maybe that is what I need as well. The fact that “you all” will be here in the end is the only thing that keeps me sane

  4. Susan July 14, 2010 at 6:42 am #

    All your hard work was worth it, that’s a beautiful picture! Not only will people be at the finish line, they’ll be cheering you along the route. Me? I’ll be keeping my eye out for Clark Kent. Change can be a good thing, but it’s not always easy. May all your dreams come to fruition.

  5. bonniegunkel July 14, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    Girl, you have helped me so many times in my struggle with the decision of “change” that I made back in 1997. You always remind me of the good things that change brought me, even though it is often accompanied with regret, sadness and loneliness. Whatever change you find, don’t let the fear of it stop you. And I’ll be here every step of the way…just as you have been for me. Great photo, btw. 🙂

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

      Thank you Bonnie, I know I give you the same advice I need to take but can’t I just sit around and tell people how to live? It is MUCH easier 🙂

      I know you will be with me every step and I thank you so much for that.

  6. Laura July 14, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    Wow! That photo was worth every bit of effort it took to take it. The color and focus are perfect!

    As for change, change is what you make of it. Some changes are out of our control, but those changes that are in our control that take us in a positive direction are ones to be embraced. Might seem like you’re on a zip-line careening out of control at times, but if you have the support of family and friends (and I know you do!), change can bring immeasurable joy to your life.

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

      First off thank you on the photo, it was work but I do think it turned out well.

      And the zip line thing was a perfect analogy, you just don’t know what is waiting at the end until you land and that is the hard part but the ride is a thrill.

  7. kimhannigan July 14, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    That picture was worth every effort! Great shot 🙂

    You are speaking to my heart about the restless feelings you are having. I think it must be in the air.

    Someone told me once that if you don’t create change, change will create you. I think that’s so true. Choose to embrace new things and new experiences and let it build your confidence as a strong and courageous person, or stay stagnant in life and fear what lies behind Door #3.

    I’m very much a creature of habit but the best things that have happened in my life were a result of major change and most of which were not my choosing. I say embrace it with everything you have and let it enhance who you already are. We will all be here to watch and cheer you on. Love you.

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

      Kimmy can I just say that I love you. You are like my soul sister so often it is scary and I am so grateful to have someone that understands the crazy that is me!

  8. SHAZnyc July 14, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    The colours in this shot are amazing. Nice angle too.

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

      Thank you! It really was a beautiful butterfly

  9. Marcey July 14, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Mindy, You have so much potential and talent to do and be whatever you put your mind to. Change is scarry, but it’s necessary for us all to grow and become the butterfly we are meant to be.

    Always here for you, always believing in you, always rooting you on!

    • mindymilburn July 14, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

      Aw, now you just made me cry, there is too much emotion this week!! Thank you Marce, that means so much to me.

  10. Jackie July 14, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    Goodness what a glorious photo! You certainly got close enough to see all the beauty.

    Yes honey, I have felt the restlessness. I was younger when I felt it and just let it happen. I felt it again and retired from my good gov’t job. That was one of my best decisions.

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

      Thank you Jackie, when I hear the good endings it makes it less scary!

  11. Stasia July 14, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    I think you should take it as an opportunity but don’t try to do too much at once (unless your really unhappy with everything, which I don’t think is your situation). Try just adding one thing or taking one thing away from your life and see what it looks & feels like after that. Then, maybe do the same thing again.

    Or if you have a goal you are not moving toward and want to, just try to find one way to move in that direction.

    I guess all I’m saying is yes, move. But don’t overwhelm yourself with it. If you’d like a suggestion, I think you should put together a portfolio and submit it to Rolling Stone. I think you would be an amazing photographer for them. What do you have a to lose?

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

      I know that you know all about change being forced on you and the way you handled it all with grace and empowerment makes you my hero! And you just gave me one of the best compliments by inferring that I would be good enough for rolling stone. Man alive wouldn’t that be my dream job!

  12. BILL July 14, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    Beautiful Picture… and to answer your question.. ZEBRA SWALLOWTAIL. http://www.butterfliesandmoths.org/species?l=1353

    I hate change. I hate it with a passion and fight it with every ounce of my being.. and yet when change comes.. (and that is just as certain as death and taxes) after all that struggling…. I find myself unusually renewed… go figure. Change is coming whether I like it or not.. I can feel it in the air…. and I wish I could say that I’m an adult about it… but I’m not. I’m trying to “plan”, but my heart is just not in it. But I’m sure that 5-10 years from now, I’ll be in a place that I refuse to leave… yet again…, when I feel change in the air.

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

      You are my kindred spirit when it comes to hating change!!!

      And thank you for getting he actual name of the butterfly, at least I wasn’t too far off LOL

  13. Susan July 14, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    You will be Morphin’ Mindy.

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

      BWAH, as long as I don’t have to wear a jumpsuit.

  14. Paul R. Giunta July 15, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    I agree with Jon. Sometimes it sucks but it usually needs to happen.

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

      I think I am waiting for it to force my hand so I don’t have a choice and I shouldn’t do that!

  15. Allison July 15, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    What a beautiful shot, Mindy!

    Change is scary, but sometimes you just have to close your eyes and dive in.

    When I finally figured out what I wanted to do, I tried dipping my toes in the water, but that didn’t work out so well.

    Taking a deep breath, and cannon-balling into whatever it is you want to do worked for me. I didn’t drown, and I’m treading water pretty well.

    Good luck to you and all of your endeavors.

    • mindymilburn July 16, 2010 at 12:46 am #

      I appreciate your words Ally, I love that you went through something very similar. You are an inspiration to me me!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

