Day 100 – Honor Thy Father

13 Jul

Well, I have reached the one hundred milestone in my daily blog and I have to say it has went by so fast. I didn’t quite know if I would stick with it but I am very proud to say I haven’t missed one day of posting and I am looking forward to the next 265.

Today’s photo isn’t sticking with my cloud theme, it isn’t even really anything very impressive but it means the world to me and hopefully after this post it will mean something to you. My father passed away from Hodgkin’s Disease when I was 4 years old and there isn’t a day that goes by when I don’t wonder what my life would be like if he were still here to guide me, hold my hand, love me, and mold me into the person he  thought I could be. I love to hear my mom talk about him and their life together so it was no surprise that  our conversation turned to him when we were out looking for interesting places to photograph.

She pulled up beside a building and said to me  “this is where I used to pass you through the window for your dad to see you when you were a just baby”. I am still not clear on why they had to sneak me in the window since I have heard stories about my dad’s boss being in love with me but never the less, this is where I would go to visit and be adored by my father on a regular basis. My dad was a welder, actually he trained other welders at a company called Vulcan Heart in Louisville, Ky and my mom would take me by his work, pass me on to his open arms where he would show me off to anyone that would give him a moment of their attention. I asked my mom which window it was and as she pointed it out I knew I had to get a photo to keep for myself.

This is a very small accomplishment in my life but it is one that I only wish I could share with my father and so I dedicate this post to him and I hope he knows that I miss him every single day.

Honor Thy Father

Honor Thy Father

35 Responses to “Day 100 – Honor Thy Father”

  1. Swapmeet Louie July 13, 2010 at 12:51 am #

    That’s a beautiful post, Mindy. Everything about it is beautiful.

    I haven’t missed a day here and don’t plan to.

    • mindymilburn July 14, 2010 at 10:13 am #

      Sorry for the delay in responding…the response from all of you to this was too much for me to respond to after writing it.

      Thank you so much!

  2. Jackie July 13, 2010 at 12:52 am #

    Oh girl, you have me in tears. You are such a beautiful person. I know you dad is proud of you. ❤

    • mindymilburn July 14, 2010 at 10:13 am #

      Thank you Jackie, I really hope he is 🙂 love you

  3. Terri Jacobson July 13, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    Beautiful story Mindy. I know how important a small thing like a picture can be. I’m so glad you had the opportunity to capture it.

    • mindymilburn July 14, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      Thank you Terri, I always say photographs are my memories and some are more important than others 🙂

  4. Susan July 13, 2010 at 4:23 am #

    I can just picture your beautiful momma handing over her adorable baby to the handsome daddy so he could show her off. You have your own fairy tale, Baby Girl, no wonder you are such a princess! Love the picture, love you.

    • mindymilburn July 14, 2010 at 10:15 am #

      I thought waiting to respond to all of these would help but it didn’t you are making me cry 🙂 Thank you and I love you too.

      By the way, they looked like movie start, I will have to post a photo I have of them. So beautiful!

  5. bonniegunkel July 13, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    Well, there’s no need to tell you that I am a blubbering pile of teary goo right now. Thanks for sharing this beautiful story and photo with us. Love you!

  6. bonnie July 13, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    Beautiful story Mindy. I also like the way you photographed the window. It fits with the story perfectly.

  7. Christopher Shiner July 13, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    After hearing your story, and then panning down and seeing such a stark, honest photo and feeling that connection, I got a pang in my gut. That is so beautiful. And your father would be so so proud of the woman that you’ve become.

  8. Laura July 13, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    I like the photo for itself, but the story behind it is beautiful. The angle seems to be slightly upwards, as if you’re looking up at your dad. Thanks for sharing! And congrats on 100 consecutive days of photography!

    • mindymilburn July 14, 2010 at 10:16 am #

      Ok your take on it just made me cry lol Man I am a mess. Thank you Laura!

  9. Karla July 13, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    Totally Love It!! You brought back a bunch of great memories 🙂 Wished you could have been here when I read that! Love you sis!!

  10. Stasia July 13, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    What they all said. I didn’t know this blog was gonna make me all weepy!

  11. SHAZnyc July 13, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    Love the textures. I think the black and white works well for this shop.

  12. Kathy July 13, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    I am crying right now…I love you!
    This story and the picture brought back a flood of memories of Jim, Mom, you and our family.
    The stories are true. I was often with Mom as she passed you through that window, for just a sneak of baby love for your Father in his hard work day.
    Your Father, my step-father…Our Dad, was such a loving and good man.
    I know he and mom were truly in love, you saw it every day. He was a man that took on her 3 daughters as his own. He loved us, comforted us, provided for us and truly was our Father.

    The most important thing I want you to know about him though, is that you were the love of his life!

    • mindymilburn July 14, 2010 at 10:19 am #

      Okay sis, I knew I should have skipped over this one. Thank you for telling me that.

      I have been missing him so much lately and I am glad you three can tell me what kind of dad he was.

  13. kimhannigan July 14, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    I read this yesterday but was so overwhelmed by the story that I had to leave and couldn’t respond. It’s a beautiful story Mindy and it kinda hit me a little hard in the heart. Of course now I come back to not re-read but to at least comment, and I read Kathy’s post. Oy vey. Anyway, I just wanted you to know that it was a beautiful picture – not just for the photography value but because of the love behind it.

  14. mindymilburn July 14, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    Thank you Kimmy, I just actually read Kathy’s comment too and now I am sitting here bawling 🙂 I know you can feel all of my sorrow and I thank you for being my friend and sharing it all with me.

  15. willa banet July 14, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

    Mindy, sweet pea you should have been a writer. You made me cry that was beautiful. I think of your dad ever day and wonder what my life would be like if he was still here to share it with me. And he was the love of my life there will never be no one like him

    LOVE MOM

    • mindymilburn July 14, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

      I love you mama! You are the love of my life 🙂

  16. Ken Shane July 15, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    That’s really moving Mindy. Thanks for sharing your memories, and of course your photos.

    • mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

      Thank you so much Ken. It was a rather emotional day for me.

  17. Mr. Foteah July 15, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    I have to say, despite it being a powerful picture in it’s own right, it’s a brilliantly written description that gives the photo true, real emotion. You’re to be commended for your honesty. Superbly done – I’m sure your father is very proud of you.

  18. mindymilburn July 15, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Thank you so very very much. I can’t tell you how much that means to me.

  19. jenn July 15, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    What an awesome blog and picture! unfortunately, i didn’t get the chance to meet your dad at all, but i still love to hear the stories the family tells of him and the man he was. everyone seems to really paint a picture of his love for you auny min. thank you for sharing this with all of us. i love you!

    • mindymilburn July 16, 2010 at 12:45 am #

      I love you too Jenn, I wish he could have met all of his grandchildren. I bet he would have spoiled you rotten.

  20. Karen Gadd July 15, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Mindy, I wish you would have had more time with your dad as he was a wonderful man and he really made me feel the sense of what a real family was suppose to be. He was the perfect example of a real man taking on step children and treating them as his own. I have lots of great memories as I know we all do. He loved us all, but you were his baby girl, and mom was the love of his life, as was he to her. Love you sis!!

    • mindymilburn July 16, 2010 at 12:44 am #

      I don’t think I have ever heard you talk about dad before sis, brought tears to my eyes. I love you too and I am so glad he loved you three as much as I do. It makes me so proud to know what a wonderful person he was.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

