Day 99 – Fluffy Pillow Clouds

12 Jul
Fluffy Pillow Clouds

Fluffy Pillow Clouds

Excuse the expression but I worked my arse off taking photos today. I have had a migraine all day so making the decision to even go out was hard enough but I had to battle the heat, the bugs, the insanely heavy traffic on a dead end road, and a guard dog that seemed to be able to recognize the sound of my moms car. I am TIRED.

I did however find a butterfly heaven and I plan to go back and get some of those gorgeous little creatures. I had a hard time deciding on what to post today because nothing was speaking to me so I combined two shots to make it stick with my theme. I thought it was rather pretty with all the different textures and repetition. I hope you enjoy.

SHOUT OUT: Today’s shout out goes to Ickmusic which is home to one of my favorite Friday activities, The Friday Five! Pete and Michael have created a wonderful site out of the sheer love of music and sharing it with anyone that will listen, and that folks is what it is all about. If you are a music fan this site is a must. It covers everything from roots to R&B which means there is something for everyone. If you are on twitter check them out @ickmusic or visit ickmusic.com

30 Responses to “Day 99 – Fluffy Pillow Clouds”

  1. Jackie July 12, 2010 at 12:24 am #

    I absolutely love clouds, and big white puffy clouds are my favorite. How do you get the clouds to look like a painting?

    I cannot wait to see your upcoming photos of the butterfly heaven.

  2. mindymilburn July 12, 2010 at 2:07 am #

    I use a tool in photoshop to give it that look 🙂 Photoshop is my very best friend!

  3. Swapmeet Louie July 12, 2010 at 2:48 am #

    Wow. If THAT is “meh” then I can’t wait to see what “Mmmmmallright!!” is.

    Really dig the sky, the ground, the green, the background… it’s a frikkin’ painting, that’s what it is. Really something to look at. takes me back to my days as a farmhand when I’d milk the cows, feed the chickens, bale the hay… I’d go tractorin’ with my pa and make sure them fields be plowed.

    Then one day I when I was out on a picnic with my family, I flew a kite that eventually got stuck in a tree. After climbing up to get it, I fell and broke my ribs. Dr. Baker told me to stay in bed but I didn’t and went back to work stacking grain. Well, I couldn’t do it with 2 broken ribs… I was going to lose my oxen until my two daughters, Mary and Laura, came to help stack the grain. The whole town saw what was happening and they came over to help… I got the oxen back and I felt like the richest man in Walnut Grove.

    Oh wait… that didn’t happen to me… rats.

    Great pic! Never underestimate your vision.

    • mindymilburn July 12, 2010 at 8:46 am #

      This is just the Thomas show and we are all passing through.

  4. Susan July 12, 2010 at 5:35 am #

    What do you mean you “combined two shots”? You had a cloud picture and a farm picture and you put them together to create this masterpiece? Rather pretty? It’s a fabulous picture! Makes me get up close to the monitor to discover everything that’s in it. Love the, what looks to be clover in the forefront, the rolls of hay, the crops, the fence, that old dirt road … You really need to have a show one day. I’m serious.

    • mindymilburn July 12, 2010 at 8:50 am #

      Aw, thank you Susan, that means so much to me 🙂

      And yes, I had a photo from the park with that lovely sky but the pond and greenery were just MEH, then I got what I thought was a cool shot of the fields and hay bales but the sky was HORRIBLE. So as I sat there trying to figure out what to do I decided to combine them 🙂

      I guess it might be considered cheating but I did take both photos and I did do the work of combining them so it is all mine!!

      Thank you again, you made me smile so big!

      • Susan July 12, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

        Oh cheating, schmeating.

  5. Christopher Shiner July 12, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    Lol. I’m late to the game this morning so all I can do is echo the shouts of awesome from the previous posters. If this is a combination of two different shots, that were than HDR’d and/or had a slight paint effect applied, then you are becoming beyond wicked good not only at Photoshop and Photography, but at the whole arc of the technique of seeing beyond the normal and making what could be mundane into something extraordinary.

    As you can tell, and at the risk of overgushing, I LOVE this photo. It absolutely looks like a painting, with almost a Van Gogh (or Matisse?) quality (at least to me.)I am NOT big on landscape pictures, so to capture me this much with one, you really have done something special.

    • mindymilburn July 12, 2010 at 9:18 am #

      Wow,I don’t even know what to say to all of that other than thank you. That was very sweet and humbling.

      It is two shots, the sky of one, and the rest from another and yes I did HDR toning on them. No Paint effect just the HDR.

      Thank you again.

  6. kimhannigan July 12, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    I am cracking up at the Mmmmmmmmmmallright thing. Sooo true! Girl this photo is probably one of my favorites you’ve posted in a while. The different textures and the rich colors are gorgeous but I love the depth of field also! Its brilliant. It truly does look like a painting. You have an incredible eye to begin with but I really cannot get over your PS skills on top of it all. You really need to find a way to make a living from this. 🙂

    • kimhannigan July 12, 2010 at 8:46 am #

      Oh and PS – hope your migraine went away 🙂

    • mindymilburn July 12, 2010 at 10:52 am #

      Man alive you guys are giving me a big head. Thank you Kimmy my awesome friend, you are too too sweet.

  7. Dijea July 12, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    I think you did a great job on the photo. I’m sorry about the migraine and they are awful in the heat. I hope it is gone now.

  8. Laura July 12, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    I hope you’re feeling better! I really like the colors in the field–the greens and yellows really contrast nicely. And of course the fluffy clouds are cheery. Nice combo job!

    • mindymilburn July 12, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

      I am doing better today thank you for checking with me!

  9. Stasia July 12, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    I think the only reason that shot didn’t speak to you was you were too tired to hear it. It’s fantastic and well done sticking with your commitment to make photography part of every day!!

    • mindymilburn July 12, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

      Thank you so much Stasia, I have to say I am getting quite tired of carrying that darn bag around with me everywhere lol

  10. Fernando July 12, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    Very cool your project. I liked the pictures, big hug!

  11. SHAZnyc July 13, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    Great, great, I don’t know what to say. This is just perfect. The colourful details are just great.

  12. embrownny July 15, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    I like the way you processed this… the color is great and it has a nice painting-like quality.

  13. Debbie August 1, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    Love the picture. The colors are simply beautiful. It looks like a painting.

  14. Ingrid August 3, 2010 at 12:56 am #

    Beautiful. I think the title is perfect for this image. Great job. I voted for #47 🙂 hope you win.

  15. Kerri August 3, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    Super shot!! Sorry about your headache 😦

  16. catherineross August 7, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    Absolutely gorgeous image and composition!!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

