Day 97 – Pink Skies

10 Jul

Before I get stated on my photo of the day I have to send a special shout out to the folks at Concert Vault for tweeting the most awesome video of Josh Ritter and Joan Baez, then following it up with some fantastic big band  music, and as if that weren’t enough they topped my work day off with a little Sting. Concert Vault is one of my favorite places to get great live music so I highly recommend you stop by and check it out. If you are on twitter you can also follow them  here.

Ok, on to the photography portion of this blog. I have been diggin on trying to get great sky shots, I don’t know where this obsession formed but I love clouds and the light cast over them at different times of day and so I took a shot of the Louisville Skyline just before dusk when there was a hint of pink and I am quite please at how it turned out. I think I may concentrate an entire week on just skies to see what kind of interesting shots I can get.

Oh and one more thing, as I was updating my facebook fan page for my site (click here to “like” me if you  haven’t already) I  noticed that I am actually a day ahead of what I thought. I posted day 37 twice so I am on day 97 not 96. I will eventually go back and change all the dates but for now I am just skipping 96.

Pink Skies

Pink Skies

16 Responses to “Day 97 – Pink Skies”

  1. Laura July 10, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    You know me; I love pictures of clouds! How blessed to have such beautiful cloud formations and colors to photograph. You captured it perfectly.

  2. Jackie July 10, 2010 at 12:48 am #

    Clouds are one of my favorite things. Photograph as many clouds as you like.

    The clouds do not look real, more like a watercolor. This is a beautiful shot. Good job!

    • mindymilburn July 10, 2010 at 10:53 am #

      Why thank you 🙂 I did add a little blur to the sky so that might be why it looks like a painting.

  3. Terri Jacobson July 10, 2010 at 1:50 am #

    I love clouds too.

    Your skyline is fabulous.

  4. Swapmeet Louie July 10, 2010 at 2:04 am #

    Ah, I love skylines… this one looks lovely… the sky looks painted in. Very cool! Yes, like watercolor as Jackie said above. It’d be interesting to see what sky pics you take this week!

    Concert Vault is an excellent site with even more excellent stuff to choose from!

    • mindymilburn July 10, 2010 at 10:53 am #

      Thank you! Again it is probably because of the blur

      • Swapmeet Louie July 10, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

        Ah that’s a cool blur… really makes everything below it stand out more! That’s something I probably wouldn’t even consider doing to a photo, but I’m gonna experiment with that now! I can see your genius. Very cool 🙂

  5. Susan July 10, 2010 at 3:29 am #

    Okay, following Concert Vault, thanks for the recommendation. Beautiful picture. Last Friday night, when we were at the concert/fireworks, the sky had that pinkish hue and I commented on it. A woman behind me said something about when the sky looks like that it’s pollution. I don’t know if that’s true, but who’s talking to you, lady!!!

    • mindymilburn July 10, 2010 at 10:54 am #

      Yeah you should have told her to hush up and not ruin your pretty pink sky. And you will love Concert Vault, they are awesome!

  6. bonniegunkel July 10, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    That photo is awesome Mindy. It’s funny, because we had the same pink clouds against the big white fluffy ones last night when I was on my walk, but by the time I got home to my camera, it was too late to get a good shot. Glad you got one I could look at. 🙂

    • mindymilburn July 10, 2010 at 10:55 am #

      Thank you ma’am, isn’t it odd how we share weather but it feels like we live really far apart LOL. We need to plan our photography day!

  7. Paul R. Giunta July 10, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Great skyline. I love the color in the clouds.

  8. Dijea July 10, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    I’m a big fan of clouds too. Love this shot.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

