Day 95 – Chaos

9 Jul

I was playing around with long exposure and movement to see what would happen so I thought I would post one of the results of my experiment. You will never get the same thing twice but sometimes it has the coolest effect on a shot. As soon as I saw the image on the viewfinder the word chaos came to mind because that is exactly how it made me feel, and I think it is fantastic when a photo can evoke an emotion.

I love the fact that I could actually still distinguish certain things in the shot (of course I knew what I was looking at ) so I am posting the original photo so you can see if you can pick out some of the objects as well.

Chaos

Chaos

Original without movement

Original without movement

14 Responses to “Day 95 – Chaos”

  1. Swapmeet Louie July 9, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    I absolutely love long exposure shots because of the very reason you mentioned: you never get the same shot twice… and the effects are SO cool. They look like Light Sabers and who doesn’t like Light Sabers?

    The effect shot is neato-mosquito… “chaos” is a great way to describe it! I can actually see me in that photo.. standing there with a yellow raincoat on with matching boots and hat… holding an umbrella in one hand and a model of the Enterprise in the other…

    Post more of these! 🙂

    • mindymilburn July 9, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

      I will do more, I am diggin the effects you get and I would love to spend more time playing around with it for sure!

  2. Terri Jacobson July 9, 2010 at 1:35 am #

    Nice work. I love the slow shutter speed, and you’re right, I would not have recognized the slow motion from the original.

    • mindymilburn July 9, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

      I only did because I was there lol but I still loved the results.

  3. Susan July 9, 2010 at 5:59 am #

    Silly String!!! Did I get it right? 😉

    • mindymilburn July 9, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

      You get a gold star!

      • Susan July 9, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

        I knew it!!

  4. Kimmy July 9, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    Fun! I actually bought some flashlights, glow sticks and other things to do some light writing. I worked with it one night but haven’t been back to it yet. There is so many cool things you can do with long exposure!

    I never would have guessed it was this picture 🙂

    • mindymilburn July 9, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

      Ok, where in the HELL did you find glow sticks? HAHAH

  5. Dijea July 9, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    I like this a lot. I get to stages where I like to try this – I haven’t done it lately. These are so much fun, you’ve inspired me to do some experimentation.

    • mindymilburn July 9, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

      I look forward to seeing what you shoot my friend!

  6. SHAZnyc July 9, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    I like the first one. LOL, It look like you threw your camera up in the air.

    • mindymilburn July 9, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

      LOL! That makes my stomach hurt thinking about it, I did swivel it slightly but no throwing.

  7. Laura July 9, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    I like it! I love playing with blur and camera movement and light.

    I am wanting to play with light more, but where I live, I don’t dare pull out my camera and place it on a tripod unattended, even a few feet away. Maybe Lisa and I can play with that while we’re in Nashville.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

