Day 92 – The Birds & The Bees

6 Jul

Well, how about butterflies and bees? There isn’t any cool saying that incorporates them both so I cheated a little. These are actually from our trip to Hubar’s Winery this weekend but I didn’t want to waste them so I am cheating a little more.

Hmm, this isn’t shedding a very good light on me is it? 🙂

Chalk it up to I was lazy and I really liked these photos. I have taken to shooting on AV mode outside during a sunny day and it seems to be working out fairly well for me because all I have to do is choose the aperture and the camera sets the rest for me.  I found that shooting between F16-F22 works best and once in a while I will change the white balance as well depending on the situation. I used my 75-300 lens for the butterflies and bees and voila, here are the results.

21 Responses to “Day 92 – The Birds & The Bees”

  1. Laura July 6, 2010 at 12:33 am #

    Fan-dang-tastic photos. Butterflies and bees are so hard to photograph because they flit from place to place. I’m glad you’ve got a new-found confidence in shooting photos in bright sun.

    P.S. It ain’t cheatin’ if you’re the one setting the rules 😉

    • mindymilburn July 7, 2010 at 8:14 am #

      Thank you Laura, I am not confident yet but I am getting there 🙂

  2. Swapmeet Louie July 6, 2010 at 2:53 am #

    The colors are so vibrant in these pictures! I really like the second one with the bee. The blurry green background helps everything in front stand out even more than I’m sure they do in reality.

    On a personal note, I don’t know why butterflies freak me out. Maybe because all they do is sit there and judge me. And I don’t like that… stupid butterflies.

    • bonniegunkel July 6, 2010 at 10:07 am #

      Bwah Thomas! My daughter is scared to death of butterflies. She doesn’t like their feet/legs. I will have to ask her if she thinks they judge her. 🙂

    • mindymilburn July 7, 2010 at 8:15 am #

      Thank you thank you, and you are seriously a fraidy cat aren’t you :p

      • Swapmeet Louie July 7, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

        NO… but man alive butterflies give me the heebie-jeebies!

  3. Susan July 6, 2010 at 6:05 am #

    Oh come on, who actually gets the legs (?) of a butterfly and bee in a picture. Amazing.

  4. bonniegunkel July 6, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    These are great Mindy. I loved shooting bees and butterflies when I found that place in Maryland. Awesome!

  5. Stasia July 6, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    Its your blog and you make the rules, so its only “cheating” if you decide it is! 😉

    • mindymilburn July 7, 2010 at 8:16 am #

      LOL! I know I tell everyone else the same darn thing 🙂

  6. Jackie July 6, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    OMG Mindy! These are amazing! Do you sell your photographs???

  7. Kimmy July 6, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    Lovely shots! The bokeh background is perfect especially in the 2nd and 3rd shots

    And don’t make me school you on cheating like someone did to me last week *ahem* 😀

    • mindymilburn July 7, 2010 at 8:16 am #

      I know I know lol I will shut up now 🙂

  8. bonnie July 6, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    Awesome! Love these. I’m glad you were lazy. lol Otherwise I might not be seeing these pics today.

    • mindymilburn July 7, 2010 at 8:17 am #

      Thank you Bonnie, that is the only down side to the photo a day, you miss so many lovely ones that could have been posted 🙂

  9. BILL July 6, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    Blasting, billowing, bursting forth
    With the power of ten billion butterfly sneezes
    Man with his flaming pyre
    Has conquered the wayward breezes
    Climbing to tranquility
    Far above the cloud
    Conceiving the heavens
    Clear of misty shroud

    (Sorry.. it’s the first thing that came to mind.)

    • mindymilburn July 7, 2010 at 8:17 am #

      No worries, I am just impressed you had that memorized!!

  10. SHAZnyc July 7, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    Great shot.
    I love shooting butterflies, bur the year I have lots of bees in my garden.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

