Day 91 – B.B. King & More Fireworks

5 Jul

Today was an absolute fabulous day. I won’t bore you with all the details but it involved good friends, family, wine, a picnic, B.B. King and a wonderful fireworks show. The concert was by far the best part and I shared it with three of my favorite people in the whole world.

I have wanted to see B. B. King for a long time but it seemed like every time there was an opportunity something came up, well this time I made it to the show and it was well worth the wait, that man still has it at 84 and I haven’t enjoyed myself that much at a show in a while. We finished the night with a beautiful fireworks display set to a handful of great songs.

I am going to post a few from the show and one shot of the fireworks that I am in love with. I didn’t have a tripod so I had to try to do long exposure while holding my breath and trying not to move and I love how it turned out. The silhouette’s you see are concert goers standing at the top of s set of bleachers looking over to where the fireworks are being ignited and the red white and blue that frame them was a happy accident.

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday and I would like to say a special thank you to all of the men and women who protect our freedom today and yesterday.

Fireworks to cap off the night

Fireworks to cap off the night

Just being fabulous

Just being fabulous

Showing us how to hold someone

Showing us how to hold someone

Doing what he does best

Doing what he does best

The drummer tried to outplay B.B. King and lost

The drummer tried to outplay B.B. King and lost

15 Responses to “Day 91 – B.B. King & More Fireworks”

  1. Swapmeet Louie July 5, 2010 at 1:32 am #

    I’m so glad you got to see BB in concert! He’s a living legend and one of the last links back to those early bluesmen that influenced pretty much everyone else. His guitar playing – the vibrato he employs – is nothing less than one of the most gorgeous sounds ever to come out of a musical instrument. Who knows how much longer we’ll have King with us… you are very lucky.

    The fireworks pic is wonderful! Totally dig the silhouettes and yes, the framing of the people is quite nice… sometimes accidents provide us with exactly what we need.

    Happy 4th!

    • mindymilburn July 5, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

      He was amazing. I have wanted to see him for so long and it was well worth the wait. His band is fantastic, he was amazing. It was just a great night of music.

      And thank you for the compliment, I really love the firework shot too 🙂

  2. Susan July 5, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    Wow, you witnessed a living legend. That must have been some fabulous music right there. I’m still in awe of your fireworks shots.

    • mindymilburn July 5, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

      It was an amazing night of music 🙂 and thank you!

  3. BILL July 5, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    BB KING has a BO BICE connection with me…. and therefore is very special. My very FIRST BO BICE concert, (other than IDOL stuff) was BAYFEST, MOBILE, AL, in OCT 2005. BB KING performed the day after Bo… and what a night. Perfect weather, cool breeze off the Gulf and at least 5000 people, young and old all gathered in the park, on picnic blankets, lawn chairs…. I knew it was going to be quite an event.. What I found amazing is that when BB KING would tell one of his ‘stories’…. the crowd was hushed… and every one hung on his every word, like a grandfather with 5000 grandchildren at his knee. It was a very special night and capped off Bayfest perfectly. Love your pictures of BB in his “zone”… He sure has a gift…

    • BILL July 5, 2010 at 9:50 am #

      Oh.. and it was also the first time I met a bunch of our friends, including old Swap.. I talked to him for about 2-3 minutes, without even knowing he was part of the band… When I saw that guy “with the hat”.. I was like… Dude!!! LOL the rest is as they say.. history…

      • mindymilburn July 5, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

        I have been wanting to see him for a long time and I am so glad I got the opportunity. It was one of the best concerts I have been to and I will never forget how much fun everyone in the audience had and how funny he was along with being an amazing talent.

  4. Jackie July 5, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    Love them all, especially the fireworks with the people in front.

    • mindymilburn July 5, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

      That is one of my favorite too Jackie, thank you!

  5. Beth July 5, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    We did have an awesome day didn’t we? I am so happy we were able to see the show. He was amazing, and Bill is totaly right about his ‘stories’ every person hushed when he started talking.I hope we get to see him again one day. Your pictures are amazing, like always.

    • mindymilburn July 5, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

      Thank you ma’am, it was so much fun. Thank you for sharing it with me!

  6. Sharon H July 5, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    Love the fireworks pic, and the silhouettes of the people included bring it to life. The third pic of BB is really cool – in his element. So glad you got to go, Mindy.

    • mindymilburn July 5, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

      Thank you Sharon, it was a wonderful night 🙂

  7. Laura July 5, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

    I LOVE the fireworks shot. The fireworks are clear, and the people silhouetted are soft. Creates so much texture and interest.

    BB King is awesome, and I’m so glad you were able to go and capture the moments. Excellent work.

  8. Stasia July 6, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    As I mentioned to you, I’ve seen him in concert and he IS incredible. The pic you labeled “Doing what he does best” is to me the ultimate pic from this collection. That’s exactly how I think of him in concert – he looks so relaxed and laid back and the music coming off his guitar is just like melted butter or something.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

