Day 90 – Fireworks

4 Jul

I guess I couldn’t let the 4th roll around without one shot of the fireworks. I won’t be able to head down to see them tomorrow night so I had to settle for tonight and I am posting one of the many because I am too tired to edit anymore πŸ™‚

I had the shutter speed set on 10 seconds, ISO at 100 and the aperture at f16 I believe and thanks to Chris’ suggestion of long exposure time got some pretty results. I will possibly post a few more tomorrow but this is one of my favorites from the evening because it captures many different images in one.

Fireworks

Fireworks

18 Responses to “Day 90 – Fireworks”

  1. Swapmeet Louie July 4, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    Ah, pictures of fireworks are always gorgeous to look at. The colors, the patterns, the gorgeous arcs… just lovely! I like the bridge in the foreground… it gives you a sense of how high and large the fireworks are.

    Glad you got to see some big boom booms! Looks like you got a few Chrysanthemums, and a Peonie in there! Nice!

    Happy 4th of July!

    • mindymilburn July 5, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

      Thank you, I loved the bridge in front of it as well I just wish it had been more pronounced.

      Happy 4th to you too!

  2. BILL July 4, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    10 second shutter speed? Do wonder mine never come out.. LOL Happy 4th!!!!

    • BILL July 4, 2010 at 8:46 am #

      I need coffee.. that should say NO WONDER…. LOL

      • mindymilburn July 5, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

        Yes 10 seconds lol more if you play around with the other settings lol.

        Happy 4th Bill, have a great day!

  3. bonniegunkel July 4, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    This is beautiful Min. We are going to fireworks tonight and I’m going to try to get some shots, but without having shutter speed and all that other cool stuff you mentioned, not sure what we’ll come out with. πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn July 5, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

      I bet your camera has the settings to do it, you just have to find it πŸ™‚

      Have fun and I am looking forward to your photos.

  4. Dijea July 4, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    Wonderful shot! Absolutely fabulous.

  5. Jackie July 4, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    Beautiful motion shot! I love the smoke in the background too.

  6. bonnie July 4, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    I was just reading yesterday that the best way to capture fireworks is a tripod and a long exposure. Looks like you did it just right! Great photo!

  7. Susan July 4, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

    That’s BEAUTIFUL!! My fireworks pictures always just come out a blur. Probably because I have no idea what ISO and aperture are. Nice shot!

  8. kimhannigan July 5, 2010 at 12:44 am #

    I’m loving this! There is so much to look at from the trailing lights on the fireworks to the odd shaped clusters in the fireworks to the star lights – you know how I love those anyway! πŸ˜€ All of the different colors, I could go on and on…

    • mindymilburn July 5, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

      Thanks Kimmy, I think we share a love of fireworks πŸ™‚

  9. Laura July 5, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    Outstanding! I really like the long exposure–it brings more explosions into the image, and adds grace to the falling flares. You captured them quite well!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

