Day 83 – Why Did They Paint Barns Red?

27 Jun

I couldn’t let the barn theme go without posting a red barn could I? And the answer to that questions is because the paint was cheap, I don’t know all the details but I am sure if you Google it you can find out 🙂

This is another shot from across the river in Kentucky and I shot on auto because I really suck at sunny day shots, so auto mode is my best friend. I did a few adjustments in Photoshop with the contrast and a little unsharp mask and viola! I may just have to do a calendar or something with all my barn shots because this has by far been my favorite theme and I didn’t even do it for the entire week. (I may have one more tomorrow)

I hope you have enjoyed these and trust me when I say I will revisit this often!

Why Did They Paint Barns Red?

Why Did They Paint Barns Red?

19 Responses to “Day 83 – Why Did They Paint Barns Red?”

  1. Laura June 27, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    We have certainly had some nice skies for photography the last few days, haven’t we? The fluffy clouds in the blue sky are a perfect contrast with the red and white of the barn. Looks patriotic.

    • mindymilburn June 27, 2010 at 9:59 am #

      LOL I didn’t even think about the red white and blue! 🙂

  2. Terri Jacobson June 27, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    I love the style of this barn. You have some awesome barns in your neck of the woods.

    I used to shoot in auto almost exclusively. They are started shooting in aperture priority mode and have finally gotten a little more comfortable with manual. Just keep working it, it’ll get there.

    I did a write-up for Tasra a few months back, here it is if you want to read it…
    http://tasramar.com/2010/04/feature-friday-confessions-from-a-point-and-shoot-girl/

    • mindymilburn June 27, 2010 at 10:00 am #

      We have so many that I haven’t even seen so I am sure I will be sharing more in the future I am sure!

      I shoot on manual for everything but very bright sunny days, I hate auto mode actually but I can’t for the life of me master outside shots on sunny day 🙂 Thanks for the link on Tasra!!

  3. Terri Jacobson June 27, 2010 at 2:31 am #

    Here’s the smoke shot set-up.

    I’ll do my best to talk you through my set-up.

    I buy incense cones because they produce the best smoke. I’ve tried regular incense and matches, nothing works like the cones.

    I shoot with a 100mm macro on a tri-pod. I use two flashes. On camera pointed toward the ceiling and off-camera 90° camera left. Sadly, I really don’t have a clue what I am doing when it comes lighting, so you’ll have to experiment with that one.

    I manually focus, use a black background and turn out the lights when I start to shoot.

    If the smoke just rises in a straight line, I gently tap the bowl.

    I got the pink color in Photoshop. There are a ton of tutorials online, but I’m more of a do it first and read what I should have done later. :o)))

    Good luck, hope this helps, give it a shot, smoke is a blast.

    I’m going to give you the links to my blog, I have the camera settings listed with each photo.

    greyhoundgardensphoto.blogspot.com/2010/05/day-129.html

    greyhoundgardensphoto.blogspot.com/2010/05/day-125.html

    greyhoundgardensphoto.blogspot.com/2010/04/day-113.html

    greyhoundgardensphoto.blogspot.com/2010/04/day-104.html

    • mindymilburn June 27, 2010 at 10:01 am #

      Thank you so much for the tutorial! I always notice your settings under all of your photos and I think “man I should do that” but then I never do! I can’t wait to try this. I loved loved that smoke photo!

      • mindymilburn June 27, 2010 at 10:02 am #

        by the way I am still going to come and steal your macro lens 🙂

  4. Swapmeet Louie June 27, 2010 at 2:33 am #

    I’m going to say it again… THIS LOOKS SO REAL!

    I hope you take that as a compliment because it truly is… this picture is another beauty! I swear you need to stick a sign exactly where you took this pic and label it as a “Kodak Moment Spot.” Then people can take the same pic as you but you’ll know that you found it so SCREW THEM!

    Thank you for the red barn! I love red barns!

    • Swapmeet Louie June 27, 2010 at 2:34 am #

      I JUST remember the artist that your past couple of barn pictures remind me of… Thomas Kinkade!

      • mindymilburn June 27, 2010 at 10:03 am #

        I figured out that too, I was going to text you but forgot 🙂

    • mindymilburn June 27, 2010 at 10:03 am #

      LOL! It IS real 😉

      I don’t think it is a good idea to go sticking signs on other folks property but thank you for the compliment. You may have been more excited about these barns than I was lol.

  5. Susan June 27, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    It looks like a carnival barn .. I mean who paints a barn red and white stripes? And a barn with a cute little dormer thing going on? It’s fabulous! Okay, you need to do something with this barn series.

  6. BILL June 27, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    Another time capsule. This barn is a really interesting design. Looks like there used to be 2 more sets of doors on either side that were sealed up… and the small windows on either side of the dormer don’t match. Great picture.. very 4th of July colors.

    • mindymilburn June 27, 2010 at 10:04 am #

      Thank you sir, like I said to Laura, I didn’t even think of the red, white and blue thing. That is why I love all of your comments. You make me see things I didn’t even see in my own photograph.

  7. BILL June 27, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    Here area a couple of really interesting articles on WHY BARNS ARE RED.

    http://people.howstuffworks.com/question635.htm

    http://www.grit.com/Community/Why-Are-Barns-Red.aspx

  8. kimhannigan June 27, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    A barn with a view, or dormer LOL! What a cool shaped barn and the colors are spectacular! This HDR stuff is amazing and you are pretty dang fab yourself 😀

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

