Day 81- Blue Skies

25 Jun

I thought I would go ahead and stick with the barn theme and try another HDR shot. I am really loving this technique and I can’t wait to get out and take a variety of shots to try it on. This barn is on some country road in Kentucky and it caught my eye because it is black, instead of gray or red. I played around with saturation on this HDR image and boosted it quite a bit to get the effect I wanted

Blue Skies

Blue Skies

Blue Skies with less contrast

Blue Skies with less contrast

15 Responses to “Day 81- Blue Skies”

  1. Susan June 25, 2010 at 12:52 am #

    Hmmm, I think I like yesterday’s better, this is almost too saturated (?) for me .. but it’s the effect YOU were looking for and it’s a gorgeous picture. You’re right, you don’t see black barns very often, never thought about it. I love seeing things through your eyes.

  2. mindymilburn June 25, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    Thank you Susan you are always so encouraging πŸ™‚ I will post the original when I get home so you can see that one too πŸ™‚ it is a bit dull and washed out but it is still a pretty barn.

    • Susan June 26, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

      Ok, I absolutely like the one with less contrast better. I didn’t mind all the contrast on just the barn, but it was the scenery that was bugging me. Thanks for posting the original for me!

  3. Swapmeet Louie June 25, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    I like how this came out as well. It’s almost painting quality. The Thing in the barn adds a nice touch of contrast too. Your barn theme has been quite fun!

    You wanna know why some barns were painted black? Yup you guessed it! Because the store ran out of red paint.

    Was this pic also put together out of three pics?

  4. mindymilburn June 25, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    I was kind of going for a painted look so excellent observation!! I actually thought I put that in the blog but I didn’t.

    This was put together with three photos as well πŸ™‚

  5. Laura June 25, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    I like the contrast of the barn against the sky and the grass, but I feel like the intensity of the green is distracting me from the primary focus. I definitely like the composition, though, and if it came out how YOU like it, that’s what’s important.

  6. mindymilburn June 25, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    You guys are cracking me up with YOU stuff. It is totally ok not to like something. I am a big girl and I am quite confident in my abilities so stop with the YOU LMAO!!!

    I love the photo, I played with a lot of harsh contrast and I like it, not everyone will. I appreciate the kind words but I totally understand not everyone will love everything πŸ™‚ so I promise it is ok to tell me you don’t like something πŸ™‚

    • Laura June 25, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

      LOL! But it’s true–if you like it, that’s all that matters. You ARE confident. I like that πŸ™‚ It’s earned confidence, for sure!

      • mindymilburn June 25, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

        Well thank you, and yes it does matter that I like it but I do appreciate criticism as much as compliments because it helps me see it from another point of view and I think that is critical in photography.

  7. Laura June 25, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    Oh, and I just noticed something–in the barn, there’s a hint of three crosses in the front wall–one on each side of the door, then a big one over it. Without the added contrast, I am not sure that detail would be as visible.

    • mindymilburn June 25, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

      I didn’t even notice that myself πŸ™‚

  8. Allison June 25, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    Great example of HDR, Mindy.

    It really brings out the detail of the barn.

  9. bonnie June 25, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    I like old barns–this one looks like it’s been around for awhile. I have to say that the clouds look kind of painted in to me. But I also agree with the conversation that if you like it that way–that’s what is important!

  10. BILL June 26, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    It’s a BLACK BARN! I’ve never seen one before. Someone ran out of red paint. There’s a story there somewhere.. must have been really HOT in there in the summer. Very unusual… and cool!!

    • mindymilburn June 26, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I like the black barn aspect too. That is why I stopped to take the photo!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

