Day 80 – The Grass is Always Greener

24 Jun

I wanted to try some HDR (High Dynamic Range) techniques in Photoshop and finally found the opportunity to do so with tonight’s shot. This process basically allows a greater range between the light and dark areas of a photo and gives us more of the details that you would see in the real scene.

I have tried this technique several times by hand but  usually just on a portion of the photo and the technique generally  involves at least three shots of the same subject at different exposures. The easiest way to do this is to use the bracketing setting on your camera and now of course Photoshop has a convenient HDR tool to help ease this process along.

The first shot is of the three different photos taken on different exposures and the second shot is the final product after adjusting a few other settings like saturation, clarity and contrast. I have to say I am in love with the final photo and I hope you like it half as much as I do.

Bracketed Photos Used for HDR Imaging

Bracketed Photos Used for HDR Imaging

The Grass is Always Greener

The Grass is Always Greener

18 Responses to “Day 80 – The Grass is Always Greener”

  1. Laura June 24, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    Perfectly done! I love how HDR can keep the intensity of the sky while allowing us a glimpse inside the barn.

  2. Terri Jacobson June 24, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    These are beautiful. I’m a fan of HDR.

    • mindymilburn June 24, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

      Thank you, I am a fan of HDR as well I just really didn’t know how to go about it with the entire photo lol

  3. Swapmeet Louie June 24, 2010 at 1:45 am #

    I’m absolutely amazed on the detail of the final shot. Wow. I do love this pic, yes!

    I’d love to see a bigger version of it!

    • Swapmeet Louie June 24, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

      You posted the bigger pic! WOW! That’s an eyefull… lovely!

      • mindymilburn June 24, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

        Ask and ye shall receive. I am glad you like it!! It is one of my favorites.

  4. Susan June 24, 2010 at 5:42 am #

    That came out great! And speaking of tobacco barns, that looks like one. Quite the technique!

    • mindymilburn June 24, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

      Thank you and yes it is a tobacco barn 🙂

  5. Beth June 24, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    I love HDR photos, I just seen this technique the other day and I started researching it. But since I don’t have photoshop I will never be able to do it, but at least I can look at your photos. You are the bomb digity 🙂

    • mindymilburn June 24, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

      Again, did you just call me the bomb digity??? LMAO!!

  6. BILL June 24, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    MORE BARNS!!!! AWESOME!!! (From the title, I was afraid it was a picture of the grass over a septic tank)

  7. Dijea June 24, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    Well done! I have not mastered this – you’ve inspired me to try again.

  8. mindymilburn June 24, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    I am not sure I will be photographing any septic tanks in the near future so you are safe 🙂

    • BILL June 24, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

      HA!!!

  9. bonnie June 25, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    Don’t know alot about HDR. I generally don’t mess with the photo software a lot. Contrast, brightness, sharpen, etc. But even though I have no idea what the hell you’re talking about, I still like what you’ve done with the photo!

  10. kimhannigan June 26, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    I am so far behind I don’t even know how all of that happened but I’ve been out of the barn loop!!! LOL. Mindy these are gorgeous! I was reading a little about HDR but it was over my head. Someday I’ll venture in there because these photos are inspiring. 😀 Good work my friend!

    • mindymilburn June 26, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

      Thank you Kimmy!! If you wanna talk HDR just call me 🙂 it is so cool. Why don’t we live closer again?!?!?

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

