Day 79 – The Barn Door Is Open

23 Jun

Well my friends Thomas and Bill asked to see some more barns, and Bill asked so enthusiastically that I just had to oblige him and I might even have some more for him tomorrow.

I played with a couple of different techniques with this one and this is what I came up with. I don’t think it is exactly where I was headed when I started out but I went where my braid and Photoshop lead me. I would offer to give a tutorial on what I did but I have to be honest, I am not even sure what all I did LOL!

Bill I hope you enjoy this one as much as yesterdays because you made me laugh.

The Barn Door Is Open

The Barn Door Is Open

Here is the original with the power lines and what not that I got rid of for the final product. Yes it is much softer and I like that but I thought I would try the contrast this time.

Barn Door is Open Original

Barn Door is Open Original

14 Responses to “Day 79 – The Barn Door Is Open”

  1. Laura June 23, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    Man, cloning is hard work! I commend your patience! I really like the changes you made. It emphasizes the stark rustic feeling that surrounds the barn.

    • mindymilburn June 23, 2010 at 8:49 am #

      LOL don’t give me too much credit, I can clone with the best of them but if I had to use that for this whole thing I wouldn’t have attempted it 🙂

  2. Swapmeet Louie June 23, 2010 at 12:59 am #

    Holy crap what a difference! I love the final product! The contrast of colors on the barn itself is cool! And I can’t even tell that you took out the power lines… guess that’s why you’re good at Photoshop and I’m not.

    And you took out the black stuff in the field! Wowzers!

    Great job! I do like barns. But I love Fonzie.

    • mindymilburn June 23, 2010 at 8:49 am #

      Thank you, I was a Photoshop Guru once 🙂

      Did you just say you love Fonzie?

  3. Susan June 23, 2010 at 5:53 am #

    What you did to it is amazing! I know sometimes I like the originals better, but not this time. The final product is sharp and interesting. I had to laugh at the “whatnot” being another wire fence and black blobs. You really are so very good at this stuff!

  4. mindymilburn June 23, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    HEH, I am so glad you like it. I just KNEW you were going to say “Oh I like the original better” LMAO!!!! YAY me I impressed Susan 😀

    Thank you thank you!

  5. kimhannigan June 23, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    I agree the finished look is SO much better than the original and not just because you took out all the unwanted items (which by the way you MUST teach me!!) but mostly because of the contrast you used. It really works on this picture to emphasize the old rustic feel of the barn and its surroundings. Kudos chicky!!

  6. Bonnie Gunkel June 23, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    THIS is why I started my blog and why I’m going to use some sort of editing software. Oh my gosh. Amazing!

  7. bonniegunkel June 23, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    Oh, and I like the one you played with better than the original too in this case 🙂

  8. bonnie June 23, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    You did a lot of work to get the clutter out of the photo and make it look better than the original. Good job 🙂

  9. Christopher Shiner June 23, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    I can only echo everyone else. This picture is soooo lovely. Very rustic and serene. And I love how the contrast and hightened colors of final picture make everything just pop. The soft texture of the original is very nice (sans the power lines of course!), but I LOVE the retouched picture. It is quietly beautiful and dynamic.

    And as to the elimation of the power lines and other things that took away from the picture in the untouched shot, all I can say is that Mindy deserves as much credit as can possibly be thrown her way. The photoshop program has some powerful features that truly ease the drudgery of trying to take out these elements, but it still takes a lot of talent, knowledge, and attention to detail to truly pull off. Which she has in spades of course. 😀

  10. Allison June 23, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

    Great ‘shop job, Mindy!

    I so get the “don’t ask what I did, cause I don’t know” statement. I play around w/Photoshop too, and sometimes you just click and click until you like what you see.

  11. BILL June 24, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    How did I miss this one? I love rustic old barn wood.. but the metal roof on this one is just so cool!!! Really AWESOME!!! Can you just visualize them building this.. and what it must have looked like when it was new???

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

