Day 78 – Raise the Barn

22 Jun

I am a city girl 150%. Give me asphalt, skyscrapers, and Starbucks on every corner and I am happy, so it seems rather strange that I love to photograph barns.

My entire family loves the country so maybe this is the one way it comes out it me, maybe it reminds me of an afternoon when I first got my Canon camera when my mom, my sister and I had the best time taking a little road-trip and every time I saw a barn I made them stop the car, or maybe it reminds me of my dear friend that used to live in TN and every time I would go visit him I would pass this old broken down barn until finally one day I pulled over to shoot it and it was one of the first non-concert photos that I shared with others that was well received and encouraged me to shoot more still life. Whatever the reason I have an entire folder of barn photos but I think this might be one of my favorites.

Raise the Barn

Raise the Barn

21 Responses to “Day 78 – Raise the Barn”

  1. Swapmeet Louie June 22, 2010 at 4:33 am #

    It’s always great to end the day with one of your pics. I share your fondness with barns… especially one that happened to be right outside of my subdivision when I used to live in TN :-P. That was a cool barn, wasn’t it?

    Do you remember why people started painting barns red?

    I rather like this pic. Run down barns are always interesting to look at because it makes you wonder what it was once used for and why did it deteriorate. The surrounding tress in this pic frame the barn nicely… wonderful shot!

    • mindymilburn June 22, 2010 at 11:06 am #

      It WAS a cool barn, still one of my favorite photos.

      Didn’t they paint the barns red because it was like the cheapest paint or something. OR they wanted the aliens to be able to spot them better?

      And thank you, I really like this photo too. It might be one of my personal favorites.

      • Swapmeet Louie June 22, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

        Red was apparently the cheapest color to purchase because it’s the color of the Devil, and for some reason nobody wants to be associated with the Devil.

        Did you get any other shots of this barn? I’d be most interested to see them! I think we all would be 😉

  2. Jackie June 22, 2010 at 4:39 am #

    There is something amazing about an old barn that looks like it will fall down at any minute, but stands the test of time. I love this!

    • mindymilburn June 22, 2010 at 11:07 am #

      Thank you, I see the same thing when I look at old barns!

  3. Susan June 22, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    Wow, gotta wonder how it’s still standing, huh? Even the trees look like they’re ready to fall down with it. You’d love all the tobacco barns up here in CT.

    • mindymilburn June 22, 2010 at 11:07 am #

      LOL I suggest you never take me for a drive then, I will want to stop every three minutes and you will want to kill me.

      • Susan June 22, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

        Never!

  4. Bonnie Gunkel June 22, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I love this! When we were driving home from Baltimore yesterday I thought about you as we passed all those farms in the country. 🙂

    I experimented with B&W on my camera yesterday. I can’t wait to show you the results!

    • mindymilburn June 22, 2010 at 11:08 am #

      🙂 Thank you

      AND one piece of advice, don’t shoot in B&W always shoot in color and then use whatever photo editor you have to convert it 🙂 Having said that, I can’t wait to see the photos!

      • Bonnie Gunkel June 22, 2010 at 11:37 am #

        Can I ask why? But since I don’t have any kind of photo editor, I don’t have any other choice. 😦

      • mindymilburn June 22, 2010 at 11:41 am #

        You probably have something on your computer and don’t even know it something like paint or something like that. I will look it up for you and let you know. The biggest reason to not shoot in B&W is that you lose options, mainly being you might find you want the color option later.

      • Laura June 22, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

        I completely agree with Mindy–always shoot in color!

  5. BILL June 22, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    I LOVE BARNS!!! They are a dying part of Americana. Here in UPSTATE NY, “People” purchase old barns.. to tear then down, and sell the old BARN SIDING and BEAMS to city slickers at premium prices. Everytime another barn gets torn down, I get angry. Another piece of history is lost. We have people up here that DOCUMENT barns.. take pictures from inside and out, and try to learn about the history.. even look for old FAMILY pictures with barns in the background. Raising a barn was a community activity, where neighbors would HELP each other. You picture is AWESOME!! I hope you will post other angles of this one… (Are you doing BARN WEEK?)

    • mindymilburn June 22, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

      Hey Bill, do you like barns? 🙂

      I kid I kid my friend, it really is sad that so much history is being destroyed but very cool that people are documenting these places. Just for you I will try to post some more barn shots if I have any 🙂

      I didn’t get any of this from another angle because I was on the side of a highway when I took it but I do have some others.

  6. kimhannigan June 22, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    I love barns also and the more worn down the better. It’s as if they have a story to tell just by looking at them although I think that about most run down looking buildings 🙂 This shot is gorgeous. The fact that you turned it black and white just makes it even better – it brings this old barn to life! Great job yet again girl!

    • kimhannigan June 22, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

      P.S. – I just noticed that its not peaked right in the middle – its a tad off center and I am loving that!

  7. Laura June 22, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    I love barns too! One day, I’m going to leave for Nashville early enough that I can stop along the highway and take photos of EVERY BARN on the way south. There are some really neat places.

    As for your photo, it’s AWESOME! I love it in black and white. Very rustic and peaceful.

    • mindymilburn June 23, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

      The barns going down to Nash are AWESOME!! I often try to stop when driving down. And thank you 🙂

  8. Christopher Shiner June 23, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    This is such a classically beautiful shot. Almost reminds me of old black and white pictures you would see during the dust bowl era. And yes I love the black and white, especially the contrast. I have seen the original shot, and it very pretty, but the retouches and the b&w makeover truly elevate the photo.

    Looks like by just touching this barn, the whole thing would fall over lol.

  9. BILL June 24, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    OK.. so now you are inspiring me to get off my ars and go take some BARN pictures.. before they are all gone. Over the winter, the old Sleigh Barn (down the road, collapsed under the weight of the heavy snow storm we had. It is so sad. I used to stop there to by SILVER QUEEN corn. Love the smell inside that barn.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

