Day 75 – Riverfront Amphitheater

19 Jun

I have another panoramic shot for you because I just love them, and I finally tried photomerge in Photoshop. Folks, it  might just be the best thing since sliced bread. I am so glad that I schooled myself in stitching photos together by hand so if I ever have to do it I can but man alive just hit File-Automate-Photomerge and you are ready to go without the hours of tedious work. You simply select the files you want to merge, the type of merging you want Photoshop to do (or you can just use the auto and it will pick the best method) and presto chango you got yourself a panoramic shot.

This is our side of the riverfront, not nearly as hip as the Louisville side but still quite lovely. Hope you enjoy!

p.s. to whom it may concern, I chose this one instead because I could kind of do a mini tutorial on it 🙂

Riverfront Amphitheater

Riverfront Amphitheater

12 Responses to “Day 75 – Riverfront Amphitheater”

  1. BILL June 19, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    Looks like a postcard!! What a great looking place to see a concert. Love how the bridge arches are repeated in the amphitheater shell.

    • mindymilburn June 19, 2010 at 9:20 am #

      They have concerts and plays, it is a nice place to have outdoor functions for sure. They just redid the canopy to look like that, I think it is quite pretty myself!

  2. Susan June 19, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    Thanks for the tutorial! Although I imagine I’d have to figure out how to get into photoshop first. 😉 Did you go see someone, or were you wandering around in an empty amphitheater for the sake of this beautiful picture? I assume there was a right picture and a left picture. Does it know not to overlap or you can’t overlap when taking the picture?

  3. mindymilburn June 19, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    I would LOVE to get you into photoshop 🙂

    I was just wondering around looking for a shot to take so no shows for me. I actually took four different shots and it knows where to overlap them. I am telling you this function is amazing, I can’t believe I did this all by hand before LOL!!!

  4. Swapmeet Louie June 19, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    You mean to tell me it’s that easy to stitch together pics on Photoshop? Is there anything they DIDN’T think of?

    I love panoramics… this one is a great view! .It looks empty… are you allowed to just walk around there?

    • mindymilburn June 19, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

      It is empty, yes I was allowed there and YES it does everything. Wait till I tell you about some of the stuff CS5 does 🙂

  5. bonnie June 19, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    Cool shot! I wish I had the patience to figure out how to do that.

    • mindymilburn June 19, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

      Thanks Bonnie, and if you have photoshop you don’t need any patience. I promise.

  6. kimhannigan June 20, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    Well not only is this picture awesome, but now you are making me want to upgrade my photoshop!! Good gravy you know alot. I am loving this panoramic thing. Of course I have that photo stitch button on my camera that I have not yet touched. For shame!! lol

    • mindymilburn June 20, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

      Shoot I wouldn’t need PS if I had that function on my camera, USE IT GIRL!

      • Beth June 20, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

        I really like this picture, I haven’t seen the amphitheater since they have re-done it. It looks much better then before.

        By the way I have photo stitch on my camera but I’m not sure how to use it. I guess I need to figure that out.

      • mindymilburn June 20, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

        LOL, well you need to get on that missy!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

