Day 74 – Life & Death

18 Jun

This small cemetery with some old stones was off to the side of a church I drove past and I stopped to take a photo, and while I of course was drawn in by the repetition I was quieted by how beautiful the place was. All the green grass and beautiful blooming trees were such a contrast for their environment that I had to try to capture a part of that moment.

Life & Death

Life & Death

15 Responses to “Day 74 – Life & Death”

  1. Terri Jacobson June 18, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    Beautiful shot. The contrast on many levels is wonderful. Red and green, sharp and soft. Pointed leaves with the round headstones.

    Nice job Mindy.

    • mindymilburn June 18, 2010 at 10:30 am #

      Thank you so much Terri, I didn’t even think about the other aspects of contrast that you pointed out. It is amazing what other see that I don’t!

  2. Swapmeet Louie June 18, 2010 at 1:12 am #

    Lovely picture… I do like the color contrast as well. The red or maroon or burgendy really stands out and brings out the background even more despite it being out of focus.

    Really dig it πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn June 18, 2010 at 10:31 am #

      Thank you, and thank you for making me post πŸ™‚

  3. Susan June 18, 2010 at 5:59 am #

    Life in the forefront, death in the background. I’m glad the stones are out of focus, I had to squint giving the illusion that I’m not at death’s door quite yet. πŸ˜‰

    • mindymilburn June 18, 2010 at 10:31 am #

      Oh you are way to young to be thinking of that.

  4. bonniegunkel June 18, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    Beautiful!

  5. Christopher Shiner June 18, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    Not only do I think the colors on the tree are wonderful, but I think the shot as a whole has such a lovely, quiet beauty too it.

    I love the fact that it’s the tree (life) that is in focus, and that the tombstones (death) are blurred and out of focus. So too me, it’s a beautifully subtle comment on what we all should be focusing on the most.

  6. mindymilburn June 18, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    You are way too kind and give me much more credit than I deserve but thank you so much!

  7. Kimmy June 18, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    YOU are brilliant. Just sayin.

  8. bonnie June 18, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    I have to repeat everything that’s already been said. Nice contrasts on many levels πŸ™‚

  9. BILL June 19, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    Very cool!! and the title is perfect!!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

