Day 66 – Barge in the Ohio River

10 Jun

Once again I found myself taking photos of the river from the Louisville side of the water and this time I caught something that I wouldn’t normally thing was very pretty. We see barges in the river daily and while they are always interesting to look at I have never though to myself “my that is pretty”, well at sunset it was pretty 🙂 If I have learned anything so far on this journey it is to never judge what could possible be pretty, just shoot it and make it pretty.

It is no secret that I am a tad obsessed with water and sunsets but together they are so beautiful that I can’t resist. I am posting two photos, one includes the  bridge (another obsession) and one with just the barge. I like them both for different reasons and decided to post the both of them. Enjoy.

Barge in the Ohio River at Sunset

Barge in the Ohio River at Sunset

Barge and Bridge at Sunset

Barge and Bridge at Sunset

11 Responses to “Day 66 – Barge in the Ohio River”

  1. Laura June 10, 2010 at 12:18 am #

    I like both pictures, but more for the water than for the barge or the bridge. The color you captured, as well as the texture that’s implied from the rocks beneath the surface could have made a photo all on its own.

    • Laura June 10, 2010 at 12:19 am #

      P.S. Just so I’m clear, the barge and bridge are beautiful. I’m just taken with the water 🙂

    • mindymilburn June 10, 2010 at 10:53 am #

      I love the water too 🙂 I think that is why I liked the photos so much to start with. It looks blue, the water is NOT blue as you know LOL

  2. Swapmeet Louie June 10, 2010 at 2:13 am #

    Wow I’m totally diggin’ this week’s photos. The water looks incredible! Another perfect way to end the day…

    • mindymilburn June 10, 2010 at 10:57 am #

      Thank you, that is a really sweet thing to say!

  3. Stasia June 10, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    I like them both very much. The colors are fantastic! But I think I like the one with the bridge a little better. In the other one, you can see the reflection of the bridge on the water and without context it would be like “what the HECK is that??!?” 🙂

  4. kimhannigan June 10, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    Okay I dunno what you did or how you were able to capture that water in the way that you did but BRAVO!! Good grief that’s beautiful. So those are rocks under the surface huh?! I’m beyond impressed.

    I can’t leave without mentioning this tiny detail that captured my eye almost immediately though – all the little windows on the barge. I LOVE THEM!!

  5. Tracy June 13, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    Love the colors in these, esp the first one. you managed to capture it in it’s pretty state for sure! the sunset, the texture to the water, the reflections, the colors, the lights, all pretty! 🙂

  6. Jackie June 14, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    Wow the colors are amazing. It looks like a watercolor.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

