Day 64 – Gerber Daisies

8 Jun

In writing today’s post it was brought to my attention that these are in fact Gerbera Daisies. I have never in my life spelled it that way (nor will I ever again) but I guess you learn something new every day.

A trip to the farmers market is always a photo shoot waiting to happen with all the gorgeous flowers, plants, fruits and vegetables and this trip was definitely no exception. I found that I was drawn to the daisies because they were so colorful and sprouting every which way and just made for some interesting shots. Since I was outside I just shot on automatic because I have more trouble shooting in the sun than anything. I need to spend some time reading up on the tips and tricks for sunny day shots. (hint hint to all you photographers lol)

Did you notice I am still shooting nature? I rebel even against myself.

Yellow Daisies

Yellow Daisies

Red Daisies

Red Daisies

11 Responses to “Day 64 – Gerber Daisies”

  1. Terri Jacobson June 8, 2010 at 2:17 am #

    Very pretty. I think gerbera daisies are probably some of my favorites. I love the bright saturated colors.

    • mindymilburn June 8, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

      Thank you so much, they are some of my favorite too, and I sure it is because of the rainbow of colors they come it, so girlie and pretty!

  2. Jackie June 8, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    I love these pictures! The color is brilliant. I hope the non theme continues!

    • mindymilburn June 8, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

      Thank you sweetie, it will continue because I still don’t have a theme in mind LOL

  3. Christopher Shiner June 8, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    I totally agree. The colors in these shots are so beautiful and striking. And sometimes it’s the small things that complete a photo for me, but I love how the gerbera daisies are complemented by the slightly blurred sign in the background with their name and price. You have such a talented eye for these things, including catching the small details.

    And again the colors on the bottom shot are lovely, and I love how the one daisy seems like it’s trying to reach for the sun (or perhaps jump up and run away?).

    • mindymilburn June 8, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

      Thank you so much, I can actually say the sign was planned so maybe I am getting better 🙂

  4. Sharon H June 8, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    These are lovely, Mindy. I love the bright colors of Gerbers. They’re frequently used in florist arrangements, and unfortunately they are one of the first flowers to droop once they are cut. Absolutely gorgeous though – almost look artificial.

    I’d love to do the photography blog too, but for one, I only have a simple digital camera, so the only additional skill I could add to it would be to hold it still enough! The other reason is that ALL my pics would probably be nature orientated – I’ve got at least one gig of just flowers and insects!

    I admire your talent (everyone’s for that matter) for working with settings, filters, lighting, etc. I took photography in college, and did have a 35mm with all the frills when I was much younger. Even set up a make-shift darkroom in my bathroom — played to the hilt! I’ve just gotten lazy (and forgetful) in my old age.

    Therefore, I am loving the blogs!

    • mindymilburn June 8, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

      You are too sweet and I have to say PLEASE start a blog. It sounds like something you loved to do once so why stop? It doesn’t matter what kind of camera you have at all, if you love it then that is the important part, it will show in what you photograph. Please think about it. Or even if you want to share some of your nature photos here I would love to see them.

      • Laura June 10, 2010 at 12:23 am #

        I agree with Mindy. It’s not the camera that makes the shot. It’s the person standing behind the camera. Beautiful photos can be taken with the most basic point and shoot. And what’s wrong with nature shots??? 🙂

  5. Laura June 10, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    Add me to the list of those who love gerbera daisies. I particularly like your second photo. The saturated color is breathtaking and the little buds that popped above the others grab my attention. Nice!

    • mindymilburn June 10, 2010 at 10:54 am #

      I think I actually over exposed the second photo but sometimes those happy accidents work in your favor 🙂

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

