Day 62 – Panoramic View

6 Jun

I don’t have a theme this week because I couldn’t come up with one in time to post today so it is a free for all.

I decided to try to stitch some photos together in Photoshop for my photo of the day. I haven’t done this is quite some time so I am rough around the edges. I took 5 shots standing in one place from left to right and then I imported them into Photoshop and went about the tedious task of putting them together. I know there are ways to do this easily and even some cameras that will do it for you but it is a good exercise for me to learn more about Photoshop and learn more about perspective when taking a photo. I have much to learn with this technique and I could have spent a few hours perfecting the stitching but I honestly just ran out of time.

You will definitely have to click on this one to see the larger version, I hope you forgive the little imperfections and enjoy the view 🙂

**I have since done more work on the photo so I hope it was an improvement!!***

Panoramic View

Panoramic View

16 Responses to “Day 62 – Panoramic View”

  1. Terri Jacobson June 6, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    Very nice. Your water looks as murky as ours does.

    Did you use File>automate>photomerge or did you stitch this by hand? It’s a very nice feature, but if you stitched them by hand you did a great job… lots of work though.

    • mindymilburn June 6, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

      Thank you! I did it by hand LOL! I am a sucker but I love doing most things the hard way because I tend to learn more, but man alive it was tedious work and I could have spent two more hours on it 🙂

  2. Paul R. Giunta June 6, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    Nicely done! I have never even tried to do this.

    • mindymilburn June 6, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

      Thanks Paul, it really sucks doing it by hand but like I said to Terri I feel like I learn more about the shots and about photoshop by doing it that way.

  3. Ken June 6, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    I guess my eye isn’t good enough to spot the “rough edges” because it looks great to me.

    • mindymilburn June 6, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

      lol Thanks Ken! I got the chance to go back and do some more work to make it look better. There is so much going on in this photo so it was easy to hide the imperfections.

  4. kimhannigan June 6, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    Seriously you are like the 8th wonder of the world girl LOL! First of all your mad photoshop skills but really this picture is art. What a perfect set up for a panoramic picture with the way the river arches and bends. Man alive that is just beautiful. The blue sky with the green trees and the mountains in the backdrop and then the boat too? *bows down*

    • mindymilburn June 6, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

      You are WAY too kind and that is why I love you so 🙂 Nature did the work on this one, I just happened to be there. BUT thank you for always making me feel like the greatest photographer!!! ❤

  5. Swapmeet Louie June 6, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    I LOVE panoramic shots… this one has that river that guides the eye through the shot. Wonderful!

    The only thing is that I wish the river weren’t all muddy LOL!

    I can’t tell where the heck you pieced it together. You wiley woman, you!

  6. Christopher Shiner June 8, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    I have to echo kimmmi and Louie, I couldn’t have said it better. This shot is so so beautiful. I can’t tell where it’s been stiched together at all. Looks like you took it in one go with a panaramic lens. The sky is so pretty in this shot, and I love the slight tilt the horizon has, makes the shot more dynamic. So gifted.

    Lol, the dirty river is our cross to bear in Kentuckiana, I guess turning it crystal blue in photoshop would be cheating a little too much!

    • mindymilburn June 8, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

      If you click on it to make it larger and then zoom in I promise you that you can tell but thank you! I thought it turned out pretty good myself.

      • Laura June 10, 2010 at 12:30 am #

        The river isn’t any less muddy upstream… LOL!

  7. Sharon H June 8, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    I couldn’t see any imperfections at all! I use PhotoFiltre, so is “stitching” a Photoshop term? Maybe like pixel painting to blend edges together?

    • mindymilburn June 8, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

      For me it is making one large canvas in photoshop and overlaying each photo while using erase, blend, clone and whatever other tool I need to make it all one photo. I know there are programs that will do it for you but I prefer to do it myself.

  8. Laura June 10, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    I applaud your patience in stitching it all together yourself. I can’t do it. Photomerge is my friend 🙂

    The photo is stunning, though–manually combined or done with Photomerge, the color and framing are excellent!

    • mindymilburn June 10, 2010 at 10:55 am #

      I had never used photomerge before but I tried it the other day. It is quite fantastic but I think I will still try to do it by hand. 🙂

      And thank you for the compliments on the shot!!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

