Day 61 – The Lighting of the Trees

5 Jun

This is my last day of the night photography theme and it has been one of my favorites so far! I love the vivid colors and like a friend said night photography hides the guts and all you have left is the beauty. I am looking forward to revisiting this theme soon.

This shot came from “The Great Lawn” in Louisville, which is exactly what it sounds like, a big expansive lawn where people go to picnic, play football, enjoy the scenery and where a lot of our outdoor festivals are held. At the street entrance there is this random section of trees that are lit up from the base and I thought they were beautiful. I had to lay on the ground to get this shot so thank goodness I brought along my small tabletop tripod but I found it more interesting to get up close and just frame the trunks with a touch of the greenery than getting the entire tree. I decided to post both color and the b&w version because I couldn’t decide which I liked better.

The Lighting of the Trees

The Lighting of the Trees

The Lighting of the Trees b&W

The Lighting of the Trees b&W

11 Responses to “Day 61 – The Lighting of the Trees”

  1. Susan June 5, 2010 at 5:54 am #

    What a pretty area! Although I think, for me, perhaps I’d like the shot better if I had seen the place in person first.

    • mindymilburn June 5, 2010 at 11:16 am #

      The great lawn area? I promise you it is boring, it is just a long big stretch of grass LOL

  2. BILL June 5, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    For sure, the color version is my favorite (and I’m a big fan of B&W) What a cool place!!

  3. Terri jacobson June 5, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    The perspective on the trees totally rocks. The B & W holds it own very well, but I love the color.

    • mindymilburn June 5, 2010 at 11:18 am #

      Thank you Terri, I loved the perspective too, it is my favorite part of the shot 🙂

  4. Swapmeet Louie June 5, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    The trees look like they’re marching to kill me!

    Love the lighting from below. Always makes for dramatic shots. I like the color one!

    • mindymilburn June 6, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 and they ARE marching to get you so BEWARE!!

  5. kimhannigan June 6, 2010 at 12:34 am #

    I vote for the color one simply because the way the light hits the trees it really makes them look beautiful. The colors and shading throughout are beautiful 🙂

    • mindymilburn June 6, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

      Why thank you, I think I like the color one more too!

  6. Laura June 7, 2010 at 3:16 am #

    I like the color version, because you can tell it’s a night shot, but the lighting and vivid colors contrast with the time of day. Either version is in my top 5 photos you’ve posted in this blog, though.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

