Day 59 – Wind & Fire

3 Jun

Day 5 of my night photography theme…and I remembered the tripod!!

Yes folks I finally remembered to take one of the most important elements to night photography with me this time, aren’t you proud? I decided to focus on elements for this post and while I didn’t get them all I managed to capture 2 so I guess the rest is left forΒ  another night.

Fire is beautiful, you can’t really argue that point. If you take a photo of it, chances are it is going to turn out interesting because of the colors, texture, and movement but that didn’t deter me from trying to get an interesting shot and I think it turned out pretty good. I love the colors of the embers as well as the dancing flames and I tried to frame it off center so that you could get a glimpse of the fire pit wall off to the side.

Fire Pit

Fire Pit

The second element I tried to capture was air or in my case the movement affects from the wind. These trees are only lit by the fire under them so I had the shutter speed and aperture set very low. The small patches of blur that you see in the leaves is the wind actually blowing through them as I am taking the long exposure. I love how the bark and even some of the leaves are in focus while you get the feeling of movement through the trees. I was also quite impressed that you can see so many stars in the background. I converted this photo to black and white and added a unsharp mask to it.

Wind in the Trees

Wind in the Trees

12 Responses to “Day 59 – Wind & Fire”

  1. Swapmeet Louie June 3, 2010 at 1:06 am #

    I like this theme within the theme! Fire always amazed me because of how it moves. My jr high teacher proved that fire is a living being. It reacts to stimulus, consumes oxygen, multiplies, consumes organic material, and can die. Interesting!

    Night photography is so beautiful! Looking forward to tomorrow πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn June 3, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

      Thank you for the lesson professor! lol

      Glad you are enjoying the theme πŸ™‚

  2. Susan June 3, 2010 at 6:13 am #

    Such different pictures, yet I can’t decide which one I like better. The way the stars came out in that picture is amazing!

    • mindymilburn June 3, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

      Thank you πŸ™‚

      I couldn’t believe the stars myself…you should have seen my face when I started to edit it LOL

  3. Kimmy June 3, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    The fire shot is my fav just because I think sitting around a campfire is the most peaceful and fun thing to do EVER. With this picture I can almost smell the wood burning so thank you! πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn June 3, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

      You are welcome πŸ™‚ I love that feeling too, it is such a peaceful place.

  4. Laura June 3, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    I don’t think I can select a favorite today. They’re both excellent! I like the framing you did on the fire, catching the fire pit as well as the fire. Sometimes we get so caught up in the main attraction that we miss what helps support that attraction. It’s an outstanding shot!

    Then the trees! Wow! Just, well, WOW! Love it too!

    • mindymilburn June 3, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

      Wow thank you Laura, I am pretty humbled by your compliments.

  5. BILL June 3, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

    CAMPFIRE??? Did someone say CAMPFIRE????

    Needless to say, if you haven’t noticed my screen name for all these many years….(And no Tommy.. it’s not a Polish name! HA!) I am partial to camping, and in particular… CAMPFIRES. What I love is looking UP at the SKY, and watching the red embers reaching up to the stars and out of sight…the faint red flickering glow in the sky and on the surrounding trees…. hence is the name.. CAMPFIRE SKY… (and now you know…) The 2nd picture “almost” captures the feel… the dance of light on the trees and the stars above. You can almost feel the chill in the air, and that slight dampness on everything as nighttime begins to unfold. MAGIC STUFF Mindy!!! great pictures!

    • mindymilburn June 3, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

      I might have noticed that you are a fan of the campfire and I have often wondered about the story behind it…now I know πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for the wonderful comment and “magic”… so sweet!

  6. Terri Jacobson June 5, 2010 at 1:18 am #

    These are awesome shots. The stars behind the trees are a great catch.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

