Day 58 – Dark Alley

2 Jun

You want to know what I learned onΒ  Day 4 of my night photography theme? Never talk politics with friends! πŸ™‚

No that doesn’t help you take better photos or know your camera more intimately but it is good sound advice. My photo of the day was just some random dark alley that made me take a second look because the walls draw my eyes down to the end and I liked the texture of the bricks and concrete. Again, I didn’t have my tripod (yes I know) so I tried to stand as still as possible and get a relatively clear shot.

I added a little noise and contrast in Photoshop to add to the atmosphere. It is totally different from the other subjects this week but I like it just as much.

Dark Alley

Dark Alley

33 Responses to “Day 58 – Dark Alley”

  1. Terri Jacobson June 2, 2010 at 1:09 am #

    Oh Mindy, I love this. Very mysterious, great leading lines.

    Nice job.

    • mindymilburn June 2, 2010 at 8:44 am #

      Thank you so much, the lines definitely drew me in to take the shot so I am glad that was conveyed in the photo!

  2. Swapmeet Louie June 2, 2010 at 2:02 am #

    I fucking love this picture, and I don’t care if I cussed… so if this is a G-Rated site, sorry. But I fucking love it… it’s (ahem) right up my alley! (insert collective audience groan)

    The item on the ground makes me wonder what the hell happened there…

    Fucking love it!

    • mindymilburn June 2, 2010 at 8:48 am #

      Well cussing aside I am so happy my photo could illicit that kind of response in you…that is the best compliment.

  3. Susan June 2, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    Okay, this might be my favorite of all. It makes you get up close to the screen, take in all the details and then take them in again. The contrast between the brick in the walls, the brick in the forefront (sidewalk?) and the ground in the alley is so interesting. The manhole cover, the puddle, and is that a pile of clothes? The two sentries .. “Do not enter”. It almost looks like tombstones along the walls leading back to where the lights begin to look like crosses. I love everything about it!

    Dumb question of the day. When you say you added “noise”, what does that do? Give it grain?

    • mindymilburn June 2, 2010 at 8:46 am #

      Well thank you!!

      Yes that is a pile of clothes, someone else asked me if it was a body lol. I thought it looked like tombstones too and now I can’t for the life of me remember what it actually was.

      And you are absolutley right, noise adds grain πŸ™‚ Look at you all smart!

      • BILL June 2, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

        So, you took this picture of a Dark Alley in the nude??? ;D

      • mindymilburn June 3, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

        you ain’t right πŸ˜›

  4. Christopher Shiner June 2, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    Yep! This immediately goes right up on the “best of” pictures list for you. Like Terri said, their is a mysterious and classic allure to this photo, as if it’s taken out of an old black and white movie. I’m thinking Casablanca lol!

    Of course I love the way it’s framed, the symetry of the walls, and especially the symetry of the lights and how their stark glow infuses the contrast of the shot. Gorgeous.

    • mindymilburn June 2, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

      That was a very eloquent compliment!! Thank you kind sir πŸ™‚

  5. Jackie June 2, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Wow! This picture is amazing! It looks like a shot from a movie. Love it! Love it! Love it!!!

  6. Laura June 2, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Gotta go with the consensus here. This ranks as one of my favorite shots you’ve posted. The perspective is spot-on perfect, and it really draws you in like you’re looking down a tunnel.

    Just curious–did you take photos of this alley from any different perspectives? Like down one of the walls? I’d be curious to know how the light played off the “tombstones” when photographed at a different angle.

    • mindymilburn June 2, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

      Thank you Laura, I didn’t take any other shots because honestly at the time I was just walking past and I stopped long enough to take two to try and get something remotely clear but that was it πŸ™‚

      • Laura June 3, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

        I understand completely! Good stuff!

  7. dpixel365 June 2, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    OH MY!!! I absolutely love this photo. It’s magical… Great capture

    • mindymilburn June 2, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

      Thank you so much, what a wonderful word to describe it!

  8. Kerri June 2, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    Really cool capture!!

  9. Sharon June 2, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    Wow, that’s a great photo!

    • mindymilburn June 2, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

      Thank you so much Sharon for stopping by and for the comment!

  10. Dopeburger June 2, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    love it; looks like an alleyway frequently used by Guy Noir during his many errands.

  11. BILL June 2, 2010 at 6:43 pm #

    I love night shots. I’ll bet this alley was not near as interesting in the daylight…. the light play is amazing. Yup.. one of your best shots… see.. you just never know… now.. about that tripod… lol

    • mindymilburn June 3, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

      Wouldn’t have come anywhere close in the daylight!!! I will remember my tripod next time I swear!!!

  12. Allison June 3, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    Outstanding, Mindy!!

    • mindymilburn June 3, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

      Thank you sweetie and thank you for the lens link again!

  13. Stasia June 3, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    You could have used this for your repeating theme week, too. I really like this one!

    • mindymilburn June 3, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

      I thought that too πŸ™‚ I must really love that composition!

  14. Karen June 3, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    Great shot, Mindy!

  15. Kimmy June 3, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    Wow okay so when I first looked at this I had to double check to see what it was. At first glance it looked like the lights were in the shapes of crosses and then the white things under them were grave stones so I was like WTH is this and how frackin’ cool is this picture? LMAO. Then, I realized it was an alley and it made me realize how much better of a photograph that makes it! Such a fantastic shot girl!

    • mindymilburn June 3, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

      Why thank you!! I love the fact that you had to look at it more than once to figure it out. That is a great compliment!!!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

