Day 54 – Take A Bow

29 May

This is my last day of theΒ  Ritter theme and I am sad to see him go. I am sure some of you are happy to move on to other things but that just means you haven’t seen him live πŸ™‚

I thought it only fitting to end with them taking a bow on stage and just like I am sad to see this week end I was very sad to see the show end. I am pretty sure I could have listened to him sing all night. This week was a little self-indulgent because I just wanted to relive the concert but I hope it inspired some of you to check out Ritter’s music or see a live show (you will thank me).

Music is such a part of our everyday lives that we often take it for granted. We listen when we are happy, sad, angry, need to clean, need to workout, and we listen just for the heck of it, but many people rarely or never venture out to take in a live show. I can’t tell you how much you are missing but I will tell you this, some of the greatest memories I have shared with friends have been at a concert. The excitement and anticipation waiting for the artist to come on stage mixed with the fact that you are sharing it with a room or stadium full of strangers that have all come together for the same reasons is magical. Many times you leave loving the music even more than when you walked in the door and it is worth it if for no other reason than that. The artists we choose create the soundtrack to our lives so don’t pass up the opportunity to share it with them in person.

Taking a Bow

Taking a Bow

Oh and yes I dorked it up and got a set list, I was practically sitting on the stage so why not? Plus I am a big dork. My friend Thomas asked if I got it signed and my answer was this “heck no, if I met Josh Ritter I would have made a total fool out of myself!” And I guarantee you I would have LOL!

Josh Ritter Set List

Josh Ritter Set List

Did you notice the encore song “Wait For Love”? I laughed at what is in parenthesis…”all us fellas” so I thought you needed to see a photo of all the “fellas” as they sang the last song of the night. This was a photo I actually had to combine fromΒ  two because I was so close that I couldn’t zoom out enough to get them all into one shot. Sorry but I have no desire to give a tutorial on that now but maybe another time πŸ™‚ You can click on the photo to make it a little larger

Wait For Love

Wait For Love

Thank you again for taking this Journey with me and letting me do a little Josh Ritter lovin’.Β  Please check out his albums, any of them or all of them. You can’t go wrong.

www.joshritter.com

21 Responses to “Day 54 – Take A Bow”

  1. Terri Jacobson May 29, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    Josh has given you a fabulous week of photos. You too, should take a bow.

  2. Laura May 29, 2010 at 2:44 am #

    I’ve enjoyed your week of photos. Sorry I haven’t had time to comment each day. I’ve been looking, though, and admiring. I agree with you on the live music experience. No matter how much you enjoy a band you hear on the radio, there’s NOTHING like seeing them live. Makes you want to do it all again!

    Love the “fellas” shot! Your combining technique is stellar.

    Soooo… What’s next week’s theme? πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn May 29, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

      Thanks dear, I know you were away with family so no worries at all, I just appreciate you reading! I will be starting next week in about 15 minutes LOL

  3. Susan May 29, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    Aw, bye Ritter week! You know I agree on the live show thing. So many special moments only that group in the venue get to share. You witness the passion, the banter, the faces, the movement. Speaking of movement ..

    When we were in Myrtle Beach recently I went to see Trace Adkins, whom I knew very little about, most especially his songs. Well that big guy can move, let me tell you that, but what was special were the people in the audience, we joked with everyone around us and they even pushed us up to the front because we had never seen him. It was pretty funny. Oh and watching the guy next to us bumping and grinding into his wife while she got off on Trace? That was pretty funny too! It’s all about the movement, ya know. Hee.

    • mindymilburn May 29, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

      I would have loved to see you at the show and the looks you gave the couple bumpin’ and grindin’ LMAO!!!

  4. Swapmeet Louie May 29, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    I would have LOVED to have seen you dork out in front of Ritter! That would have been worth catching on film!

    • Swapmeet Louie May 29, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

      By the way, like everyone else, I really enjoyed this week. Your pics have shown the various moments in the show, and your description and enthusiasm for his performance comes through in those pics. I hope you find another artist to do this with again soon.

      • BILL May 29, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

        When are you touring again? ;-D

      • mindymilburn May 29, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

        I hope to find plenty of live music this summer too πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn May 29, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

      It would NOT have been a pretty site I assure you. It would have went something like this

      Ritter: Hi
      Me: I love you
      Ritter: Thank you, who should I make this out to?
      Me:I love you
      Ritter:That is very sweet…SECURITY!!

  5. BILL May 29, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    THANK YOU SO MUCH for this week. I loved reliving the concert too. It’s kind of like FIELD OF DREAMS… and you are the only person that can see the ball players on the field. I’m just glad that I’m not crazy, and that someone else can see “it” too!!!
    If you have any other photos of the concert that you want to share.. I have a folder already created!! LOL
    THANKS AGAIN!!! and MUCH LOVE!!!

    • mindymilburn May 29, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

      I will most definitely send you the rest of the shots πŸ™‚

      I LOVE that you know exactly what I am talking about and no you are not crazy, or if you are then save me a seat! You described it perfectly with the “Field Of Dreams” analogy because until you see him live you just don’t get it πŸ˜‰ Thanks for sharing this with me Bill, too bad we couldn’t go see him together!

  6. Lisa May 29, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Been enjoying these! Looking forward to whatever your next theme is. πŸ˜€

  7. Dave Lifton May 29, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    Great shots all week, Mindy. i only wish you had gotten one just of Zach’s handlebar moustache.

    • mindymilburn May 29, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

      Thanks Dave, I will have to look for one to crop for you πŸ™‚

  8. kimhannigan May 29, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    Mindy I have really had a great time seeing all things Josh this week. πŸ™‚ I didn’t know much about him prior to this but you have intrigued me enough to want to catch him in a show one day! Your photos from a live concert are some of the best I’ve ever seen. You never fail to capture those moments that most people tend to overlook. Thanks again for sharing these with us this week girl! πŸ˜€

    • mindymilburn May 29, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

      You are the sweetest!!! I hope you do get to see him sometime Kimmy and I hope I get to go with you lol

  9. Anne May 31, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    Enjoyed these shots – and yes, I absolutely agree with you about live music. Going to a concert is, to me, what church must be for some other folks: the sense of community, the sense of sharing something bigger than all of us. One of these days I’ll head down to Louisville for a show and maybe we can meet up. πŸ™‚ By the way, I just bought Josh Ritter’s newest album & plan on listening to it in the car on my way home from Mom’s tomorrow!

    • mindymilburn May 31, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

      “what church must be for some other folks” EXACTLY!!!

      We will definitely have to go to a show together at some point, we live too darn close not to! And I might have just did a little jig about the Josh CD πŸ™‚ I hope you love it. If you get a chance pick up Animal Years as well!!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

