Day 52 – Annabel Lee

27 May

On to Day 5 of my Ritter theme week.

There was a really cool moment during the show where one of Ritter’s friend from Louisville Ray Rizzo joined the band on stage to recite Edgar Allen Poe’s “Annabel Lee.” I thought it was fitting to showcase this moment in my blog so I am not only posting a photo of Ray but also the link to download the audio file of him reciting the poem.

I believe they bring a friend on stage at every show to do this but it was a nice moment and a great introduction to Ritter’s song “Another New World” which is about an explorer who has to sacrifice his ship called the Annabel Lee, yes Ritter is quite the smart writer and you can see many similarities between the two stories. There is something so quiet and moving when a poem become a performance piece and the addition of the soft music playing along in the background really made this a special moment for me.

Ray Rizzo Recites Annabel Lee (download audio file)

Ray Rizzo Recites Annabelle Lee

Ray Rizzo Recites Annabel Lee

11 Responses to “Day 52 – Annabel Lee”

  1. Swapmeet Louie May 27, 2010 at 4:58 am #

    Sounds like a cool moment in the show 🙂 it’s always neato when songwriters take their lyrics from an existing story.

    On a side note, that guy looks like Colin farrell.

    • mindymilburn May 27, 2010 at 11:27 am #

      It was a very nice moment indeed. I have to say I didn’t know about the similarities until they did this on stage and I went home and looked it up LOL.

  2. Jackie May 27, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    He does look like Colin Farrell.

    I like the way the light is hitting him perfectly for the dramatic effect. Great shot girl.

  3. Susan May 27, 2010 at 5:58 am #

    Okay, today I shall comment not only on the picture, which is great, but also on your ability to remember all the facts, details and names. Did you write this guys name down at the show? I’d be like “yeah some guy got up and read some poem”. So kudos to you for that!

    • mindymilburn May 27, 2010 at 11:29 am #

      LOL! In this instance I did remember, I am not usually that on top of it, but yes most of the time I will put names of opening acts and what not in my phone as the show goes on so I can go home and look them up 🙂

  4. BILL May 27, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    I’ve always LOVED POE…Annabel Lee is of course one of his best known, (up there with The Raven). Annabel was ruined for me years ago by a Clint Eastwood movie, called PLAY MISTY FOR ME. Needless to say, every time I see Jessica Walter on any screen, I still get the creeps!!!
    It is nice to have a new ANCHOR to such a great poem. I almost feel like we should be issuing a “spoiler alert”, as we talk about Josh’s concert. This was just one of MANY unexpected moments. BRILLIANT…

    • mindymilburn May 27, 2010 at 11:32 am #

      Spoiler alert!! I never even thought about that Bill LOL!! I hope it doesn’t ruin anything for anyone 🙂

      I actually love Poe too but never made the connection to Ritter’s song after I heard the new album, so that is why I LOVED this moment on stage. It was such a wonderful way to make that connection.

      He really is brilliant!

      Oh and I have never seen the movie you referred to but now I am kind of intrigued as to why it was so bad lol

      • BILL May 28, 2010 at 11:10 am #

        For the full effect, watch it at night, alone, during a thunderstorm….. If you do, I know you will kill me the next time we see each other.. LOL

      • mindymilburn May 28, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

        LOL you ain’t right.

  5. kimhannigan May 27, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    LMAO! What Sue said. The picture is great and captures that particular moment in time on stage but OMG you and your details made me laugh just a little only because I’m lucky to remember how to find the exit on my way out 🙂

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

