Day 51 – The Royal City Band

26 May

Ritter week day 4 is dedicated to his band

I can’t talk about a live Josh Ritter show without talking about his phenomenal band. I remember the first time I saw them on stage with their bolo hats, vests, button down shirts, and one handle bar mustache, I thought to myself man these guys look like the “Rat Pack” and I am in for a night of some fantastic music. I was right. High energy, incredible talent, and the perfect supporting cast of eclectic characters to share the stage with Ritter.

Not to play favorites but his bass player Zachariah Hickman is amazingly talented and so much fun to watch. He switches instruments almost as much as Ritter smiles and works incredibly hard to keep the audience involved. When he started singing “Wicked Games” at the show I am pretty sure my jaw hit the floor not only at the choice of song but because he has some serious vocals and my only regret is that I didn’t video it!!!

Ritter is lucky to have such a talented group of guys to round out his already amazing show and I hope you enjoy the photos and possibly the introduction to some new musicians.

Zachariah Hickman – Bass
Austin Nevins – Guitar
Liam Hurley – Drums
Sam Kassirer – Keys

Josh Ritter and The Royal City Band

Josh Ritter and The Royal City Band

Zachariah Hickman

Zachariah Hickman

Austin Nevins

Austin Nevins

Liam Hurley

Liam Hurley

Sam Kassirer

Sam Kassirer

9 Responses to “Day 51 – The Royal City Band”

  1. Terri Jacobson May 26, 2010 at 1:41 am #

    I love the second shot. I don’t know the band, looks like I am going to check into him.

    • mindymilburn May 26, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

      Thank you Terri, definitely check out Josh Ritter, you will thank me 🙂

  2. Swapmeet Louie May 26, 2010 at 1:53 am #

    Wow that full band shot is wonderful! What are those bug-like things in the background? The lighting is beautiful!

    Many times people don’t pay attention to the band when there’s a solo artist involved… it’s great to see them get recognized because (even the artist would agree) without them, the show wouldn’t be the same.

    Man, I wish I can grow facial hair.

    • mindymilburn May 26, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

      They are light bulb shaped lights behind the band, and thank you 🙂

      I always pay attention to the band, probably as much as the main artist on stage because I LOVE instruments and I love when you see someone who is in the background getting so into it, which means they love what they are doing and it isn’t just a show, it is how they feel.

      You with a mustache? I dunno, kinda scary

  3. BILL May 26, 2010 at 2:59 am #

    MINDY, Your pictures are BRILLIANT!!!

    TOMMY, Facial hair? Try Photoshop!!!

    • mindymilburn May 26, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

      Thank you Bill, I kinda heart you 🙂

  4. Susan May 26, 2010 at 5:37 am #

    No way! Is that mustache real? And the bass player has drum sticks because? I love that first one, but wish it were a little lighter, but then I suppose it would ruin the lighting. This cast of characters piques my interest even more!

  5. mindymilburn May 26, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Yes it is real 🙂 at that moment he had taken the drum sticks from the drummer and was counting out the beat for the song I believe. Then he played the symbols on the drum for a minute. So fun.

    The first one I can’t lighten anymore or it will over expose the individuals bathed in the red light…I tired LOL but I will try a different technique just for you when I get home 🙂

  6. kimhannigan May 26, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    Okay so that first shot is so frackin’ cool!! I love the stage is lit – great capture 😀 And then there’s the mustache…that is worthy of a photo. Very cool shot 🙂

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

