Day 50 – Joy To You & Me

25 May

On to day 3 of my Ritter theme week!

The first word I would use to describe Josh Ritter on stage is joyous, so much so that it is contagious and even if you haven’t heard any of his songs before that moment, you feel like you have listened to his music your entire life. There is something to be said for an artist that can grab you the moment they walk on stage and carry you through the night leaving you hungry for more.  His smile simply lights up the stage and makes you feel at home, promising you an evening filled with heart and warmth that only his talent can match.

I urge all of you to catch a live show if he is anywhere near your area, and I hope these shots from today’s photo montage can give you a small glimpse of the energy that he brings to the stage with him.

I can’t leave you without posting some Ritter tunes so in keeping with the theme of things that bring me joy here are a couple of versions of my favorite song “Girl in the War” from his album The Animal Years

“Girl in the War – Album Version

“Girl in the War” – Live from 930 Club

Click on the image to enlarge

Joy to You and Me

Joy to You and Me

14 Responses to “Day 50 – Joy To You & Me”

  1. Swapmeet Louie May 25, 2010 at 2:54 am #

    Those are great pics 🙂 Weird thing is that I would not expect him to be so joyous judging by his albums! LOL!

    You’re bringing out a side to Ritter that I obviously don’t know… I’ll have to go listen to his albums again and this time picture him singing with a smiling face.

    This week is a lot of fun 🙂 Thank you!

    • mindymilburn May 25, 2010 at 11:12 am #

      I wouldn’t have thought that about him either based on his music

      The very first time I saw him I went alone (no one wanted to go with me) and I have to admit I was a tad nervous going to a show alone and felt kind of weird. After about ten minutes there I made friends with some fellow fans but once he started playing I couldn’t have cared less if anyone was there. I was memorized!

      Thank you for always reading and commenting.

      • Swapmeet Louie May 26, 2010 at 1:54 am #

        You were “memorized?” LOL!!!

    • BILL May 25, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

      Putting a face and personality to music just took on new importance. It totally changes the way I listen to Josh. I’m wondering how many other artists would change my impressions………

  2. Susan May 25, 2010 at 6:00 am #

    He does light up the stage, doesn’t he! If he’s anywhere near me, I’ll definitely go to a show. Please tell me those are regular pants and not jeans he has an ironed crease down the front in. Creased jeans freak me out. The keyboard player must be from the great state of Maine? Why yes, your pictures are so good I’m seeing a lot of detail.

  3. mindymilburn May 25, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    You will love him Susan!!

    And no those are dress pants, they do look kinda like jeans though don’t they lol.

  4. Laura May 25, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    Great shots! I like the idea of the montage, too. It’s an excellent way to share multiple views of the same event.

    He looks like he has fun on stage. That’s always a good thing 🙂

    • mindymilburn May 26, 2010 at 3:40 am #

      Thank you, I got the idea from another blog with sports photos and thought it turned out really well. Plus there were just too many of him smiling to pick just one lol

  5. Beth May 25, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    You can’t help but smile when you look at these pictures.I ❤ Him……and you 🙂

    • mindymilburn May 26, 2010 at 3:40 am #

      HEH, you were so funny at the show!!!

      I heart you too!

  6. Christopher Shiner May 25, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    I agree, the use of the mantage is perfect and the shots are so lovely. It’s a wonderful storyboard of the concert, showing many different facets of his performance.

    And again, this guy was just so damned happy to be playing, you couldn’t help but be swept up by it. Combine that with the raw talent he has, along with his amazingly talented band, and it became one of the best concerts I’ve ever been to. 🙂

    • mindymilburn May 26, 2010 at 3:42 am #

      Thank you, it really want the most fun!! Next time I won’t have to beg huh?

  7. BILL May 25, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    “I NEED A WITNESS”………..

    So yes, I got to see JOSH RITTER LIVE and you hit it exactly right.. from the moment he comes bounding out on stage, obviously excited to engage the audience and play his music…. it is shear JOY. I’ve been to a lot of concerts in my life… The closest to this I have seen was Bo at Bayfest in OCT 2005. (just as a reference)
    Josh has that “inner light” that comes from every pore and bathes the entire audience. It’s like being at a tent revival.. without the wine and bread.
    I was not allowed to take ANY pictures at my concert… so THANK YOU for giving me so many great shots of that contagious smile. He’s a good kid.

    On a side note: Has anyone noticed Josh’s BASS player??? We’ve seen him twice before with different bands…(BB KINGS, NYC was one) …. a very “unique” individual, dressed in a suit, with a querky mustache. Looks like a total geek, and almost distracting the way he moves…. but the guy can rock… and SING like a rock star.

    • mindymilburn May 26, 2010 at 3:44 am #

      His shows are in the top five shows I have ever been too. I love his music but seeing him live takes it to a whole new level and oddly enough writing about him this week has made me love him even more.

      Once I get all the photos edited Bill I will upload them and send them on to you 🙂 I hate going to a show where they don’t allow photos. Drives me crazy.

      OH and the funny thing is, my next bog is going to be about the band and his bass player is one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

