Day 49 – To The Dogs or Whoever

24 May

It is day 2 in my Josh Ritter theme week and I am having a hard time picking photos to share so I will probably be posting more than one photo each day.

I love guitars, well what I mean to say is I love photographing them. I am not sure why but I am not lying when I say I have about 200 photos on my hard drive of just guitars sitting on a stage waiting for the show to start (hmmm that might be a good theme week). It isn’t just guitars either, I love to photograph guitarist, I am drawn to them when watching a live show because there is something mesmerizing about it and to this day I can’t articulate why. So in honor of that I had to share some photos I took of Josh’s guitars on stage.

Acoustic and Electric in Blue

Acoustic and Electric in Blue

Guitar Silhouetted on Stage

Guitar Silhouetted on Stage

Guitar Bathed in Red

Guitar Bathed in Red

On Ritter’s 2007 release The Historical Conquest of Josh Ritter there is a fun song called “To The Dogs or Whoever” and I couldn’t wait for them to play this song at the show. It is all about the music (especially the guitars) and they had so much fun on stage with this song I just had to share a video I found on YouTube of them performing itΒ  this year, since this video they have added a section at the end where they all freeze in whatever position they are in for about 30 seconds before playing the last few bars of the song and it is hilarious.

5 Responses to “Day 49 – To The Dogs or Whoever”

  1. Swapmeet Louie May 24, 2010 at 2:01 am #

    A) the red guitar shot is awesome
    B) guitars are cool
    C) I have guitars that are cool
    D) I’m cool because I have guitars
    E) I’ve always been a fan of Gretsch guitars
    F) That video is SO much fun!
    G) I miss my guitars
    H) I might just sleep with my guitars tomorrow night
    J) To me, musical instruments (like guitars) symbolize everything that is possible… and guitars on a stage symbolize the calm before the storm
    K) Did you notice that I skipped “I?”

    Loving this week πŸ™‚

  2. Susan May 24, 2010 at 6:15 am #

    The red guitar picture is my favorite of the three and that video was fun. Of course I waited for them to freeze because I hadn’t paid enough attention to what you said. Josh sure does have fun up there, doesn’t he.

  3. kimhannigan May 24, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

    I agree the red guitar pic is awesome! Very Mindyesque seeing these guitars on stage πŸ˜€ That video is great. I hadn’t heard that song before but Josh seems to be so much fun onstage. Thanks for adding that πŸ™‚

  4. Laura May 25, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    I kinda like the first pic, bathed in blue. It goes with Tommy’s comment about “the calm before the storm.” Excellent insight.

  5. Christopher Shiner May 25, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    You are so good at capturing the magical quality of musical instruments. To me there is still a kinetic quality to the guitars, even when they are seemingly at rest, they feel like they are ready to jump up and be played at any moment.

    I love the first two shots, espeically the black and white (very classic), but the lone shot of the guitar bathed in red light is so striking. It almost feels like the light isn’t being cast upon it, but rather is emanating from it. Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

