Day 48 – Ritter Week Begins

23 May

I hope this week doesn’t bore you with the same subject but if you know and love Josh Ritter I am probably safe with you and if you don’t then maybe this week will convince you to get to know him and his music better. This is one artist that deserves an entire week dedicated to his music.

I knew about Ritter for a while before my friend Thomas started to talk about him on a regular basis but it wasn’t until his blogs that I really got into his music and purchased every album I could find. I fell in love quickly with his voice and the way he told a story with his lyrics and “Girl In The War” became one of my all time favorite songs. Then I saw him in concert and I was done. He is one of the most fantastic performers I have ever had the pleasure of seeing live, the sheer joy and love that he shows for what he is doing while he is on stage is infectious and he is so genuinely humbled by the support he gets from the crowd it is endearing.

This is the third time I have been lucky enough to see Ritter live and it just keeps getting better.  A couple of my closest friends Beth and Christopher were able to go with me this time around and I am happy to announce they are total Ritter converts. They left the venue singing his praises and vowing to go home and get all of his music they could find. I think that about says it all!

I was highly unsuccessful at recording the show I went to but you can download  Josh live at 9:30 Club (5-8-10) at TheFrontloader.com and this is pretty close to the set list from our show.

Purchase “So Runs The World Away” on Amazon.com

Josh Ritter live at the Brown Theater

Josh Ritter live at the Brown Theater

10 Responses to “Day 48 – Ritter Week Begins”

  1. Swapmeet Louie May 23, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    I’m completely flattered that you mention not only me but TheFrontloader.com as well… thank you! I’m glad I could be a part of spreading the word about Ritter. He’s a great artist… I hope to see him live someday. You’re 3 ahead of me now.

    You’ve always been fantastic at capturing a live show, and this pic simply shows that I’m right (as usual HAHA!). I really look forward to this week!

    • mindymilburn May 23, 2010 at 11:59 am #

      Live shows…now THAT is what I love to shoot 🙂 And you are very welcome for the mention, thank you for bringing him to to forefront of my music knowledge.

  2. Swapmeet Louie May 23, 2010 at 12:46 am #

    The stark black background makes it seem like he’s the only one on stage… very cool!

  3. BILL May 23, 2010 at 12:50 am #

    As you already know, I went to see Josh this past Wednesday Night at TOWN HALL in NYC. NO PICTURES ALLOWED.. PERIOD. This was my first time seeing him LIVE. Putting a face and personality to the music really does make a difference. I agree. JOY is the word that best describes him and his music. I can’t wait to see him again. Thanks again to TOMMY for introducing me to this great artist.

  4. Susan May 23, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    The only Josh Ritter I have are the downloads Thomas posted on the TheFrontloader a good while back. And when they come up on shuffle I love them. So you’ve convinced me to download an album. Which should I start with at itunes?

    This is a great picture, you can see the raw emotion in his face. Are his live shows with a band? For some reason I think of his shows as acoustic.

    • mindymilburn May 23, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

      The emotion on his face is why I chose this photo, it was such a wonderful moment on stage for the audience.

      He performs with a live band and his band is FANTASTIC! If he comes around your areas Susan you have to go see him, you will love it.

      OH and start with Animal Years

  5. kimhannigan May 24, 2010 at 12:10 am #

    YAY this week will be fun!! Great starting picture – the emotion in his face says it all 🙂

  6. Beth May 24, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    I am so excited about this weeks ‘subject’. He is amazing!! When can we go see him again?

  7. Christopher Shiner May 25, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    Thank you so much for introducing me to Ritter’s music. That concert was so amazing. And you’re totally right, infectious is definitely the word to describe the joy he has for music and performing. This is a great shot of him and totally captures the emotion he brought to the stage.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

