Day 47 – The Perfect Bite

22 May

This is my last food theme day, and I may just come back to it because it was so hard it makes me want to work at it even more.

So the perfect bite is a combination of going for color, getting in close, and another suggestion from a friend that “I want it to feel like I am getting ready to take a bite” so this is what I came up with. I am in love with veggie chili and I make it all the time no matter temperature outside and since we have been getting a lot of rain and just chilled weather I had to make some chili. Once I was done I thought it was so pretty that it should be my photo of the day.

Just FYI, I do search for the perfect bite when I eat, the culmination of all the ingredients in one mouthful, so while this shot might be a tad prettier than what my food normally looks like I really do take the time to get everything in one tasting to achieve the perfect taste. I shot on CA (creative auto) mode and turned the flash off, I was hoping to get the soft glow from my dining room light and I think I was able to get the look I was going for.

Thank you once again to all of you that commented and gave me suggestions during my roller coaster of a week. Next week is already planned out as I am going to be bringing the Josh Ritter love so I hope you guys will stick around!

Perfect Bite

Perfect Bite

19 Responses to “Day 47 – The Perfect Bite”

  1. Terri Jacobson May 22, 2010 at 2:34 am #

    I loved your theme week for food. Can’t wait to see next weeks theme.

    • mindymilburn May 22, 2010 at 10:42 am #

      Thank you Terri for coming on the journey with me!

  2. Susan May 22, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    Okay, in this photo that out of focus (or blurry, whatever you call it) background is okay with me (in case you were worried about it, hah) because I think it’s genius how you made the perfect bite stand out on top of like colors. Genius, I tell you!! The true test is that it even makes me want to take a bite of veggie chili. Not sure if it was your food journey this week or the subjects of the pics, but, for me, they improved each day, starting with the fruit tower (which is still my favorite picture).

    • mindymilburn May 22, 2010 at 10:43 am #

      I was VERY worried that you weren’t going to approve 🙂 but since you just called me genius I am ok with whatever you say after today!! Thank you Susan, I love you bunches and can always count on you for a laugh and to make me feel better. This journey for me improved too through the suggestions of all you wonderful people. I am so grateful!

  3. BILL May 22, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    Love the depth of field!! Not too often that a picture can make you SMELL the food!!!

    JOSH RITTER? In NYC, they would not let us take pictures.. not even one!!!! dang! (it was still an AWESOME concert.. and I’ll be going again for sure)

    • mindymilburn May 22, 2010 at 10:44 am #

      Thank you sir 🙂

      And yes Josh, I saw him on Monday. This is my third time seeing him live and he gets better and better and deserves a week for sure!

  4. Swapmeet Louie May 22, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    Like I’ve already said, I’ve enjoyed this week’s theme. This is a good shot to end it with because it feels like the culmination of what you’ve gone through. Is that sour cream… on chilli? Is that legal in Indiana?

    I like the colors here. It still has a main color to draw from, but the other bits are a nice contrast. As for the perfect bite, I don’t often search for it… I just shovel food and trust that at some point all the food will mix into a good bite.

    Ever see Major Payne? That scene where he eats at the club? That’s me on SLOW motion.

    Sour cream??? On CHILLI? You crazy Indianonites.

    • Swapmeet Louie May 22, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

      and how the #$%@^ do you spell chilli? Chili? Chile?

      • mindymilburn May 22, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

        Thank you sir, for talking this theme out with me and giving me good advice!

        That is sour cream on chili and yes it is legal and very much recommended by this Indianonoite.

        OH and by the way, I don’t need a reference to know how you eat, don’t forget the soup in a pan incident LMAO!!!

  5. Jennifer May 22, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    Love it!!!

  6. Laura May 22, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    I really liked all of the photos this week (made me hungry, dangit!), but you hit your stride with the lemons, I think. The color contrast was so vivid and full of life. The abstract pear (my favorite of the week) was doubly artistic, because you created the pear, then you photographed your own work. Very cool. And the chili was perfection. I love chili–vegetarian or not–and the depth of field and presentation were outstanding. Great work!

    • mindymilburn May 22, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

      Thank you so much Laura, I felt the same way about my week. While I loved the cupcake one I felt lost after that and then it started to come together again with the lemons.

      Thank you so much for always commenting and being so supportive!

  7. Bonnie Gunkel May 22, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    OK, not only do I LOVE this photo, I want to eat it! You’re gonna have to give me that recipe. You talk about your veggie chili time…I want to try it! 🙂

    • mindymilburn May 22, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

      You are too sweet, it is the easiest recipe on the planet 🙂

  8. Julie May 22, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    I think you’re too hard on yourself about this food week thing. 🙂 The only picture I wasn’t jumping up and down for, yet it was still far beyond what I could ever do lol, was the lemons one. The pear one is amazing and I love the sweet tooth one. This perfect bite is up there in my favorites from the entire blog so far. I love it!

    • mindymilburn May 22, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

      Thank you Jules!! You are too awesome girl. I guess we are our own worst critics and that is a good thing since it makes us work harder 🙂

  9. Allison May 22, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    Awesome shot and the chili looks yummy!

    • mindymilburn May 22, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

      Thanks Allison, it was quite good 🙂

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

