Day 46 – Children of the Corn

21 May

Yes the title was a ploy to get you to look, now read on.

Day 6 of my food theme and I think getting close and getting the color is a plan of attack that is working for me. I was washing some vegetables today when I noticed how pretty corn is with the green of the husk, the yellow of the kernels, and the browns in the silks so I decided to make that my photo of the day before eating the yummy goodness.

I tried to use the macros setting on my camera to see how it would turn out and with the first shot I got in a tad closer than the second. The macros setting selects everything for you so there wasn’t much work on my part other than to point and shoot and try to frame it in an interesting way. After I took some shots I went to download them and really started to think if I got the stalk wet it might be more interesting so I went back and ran some water over it and love the way the beading is on the husksย  and kernels. I decided to zoom out a little for the second shot to get more of the water on each level of the husks.

I am posting themย  both and you can let me know which one you like the best or if you like them at all ๐Ÿ™‚

Dry Corn

Dry Corn

Wet Corn

Wet Corn

17 Responses to “Day 46 – Children of the Corn”

  1. Swapmeet Louie May 21, 2010 at 1:52 am #

    I like the first one better because it has more depth. The yellow does jump out quite a bit with the black background. It’s a lovely contrast.

    I’m a huge fan of the macro lenses. I think it’s a great tool to use for objects like food because it shows the texture (and I love texture). It’s been an interesting week here… you’ve gone from blah-dom to a bit of frustration to finding a bit of a stride and focus. I’ve actually enjoyed your journey more than the pictures you’ve posted… I hope that came out the right way.

    It’d be MOST interseting to see what you could come up with if you did this for another week ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Just sayin’…

    • mindymilburn May 21, 2010 at 11:51 am #

      First off let me say HECK NO to another week LOL I need a break from food and plus my Josh Ritter gush fest is coming up!

      I don’t have a macro lens, the ones for my camera cost more than my life, so I just use the macros setting and get in really close. I appreciate your candor about my journey but I hope you at least enjoyed the photos somewhat.

      Oh and I prefer the first one for the framing purposes as well just wish I had the water element in that one, and the black background is my microwave LOL!

      • Swapmeet Louie May 21, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

        You mean there were pictures in your posts????

  2. kimhannigan May 21, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    I like the framing of the first picture but I think I prefer the 2nd picture because the water beads just added to it. It makes the corn look juicy and I swear I could almost smell it just from looking at that picture ๐Ÿ™‚ Nicely done yet again girl!

  3. Laura May 21, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    My gut reaction was that I liked the second one better. For me, it has more interest with the corn, the husk, and the water beads. But after reading the comments, I have to say that I do like the composition of the first pic better. But if I had to pick one to promote my corn, I’d still select the second. It looks fresher.

    • mindymilburn May 21, 2010 at 11:52 am #

      I like the composition of the first one better too I just wish I had thought to get it wet, I couldn’t recreate the shot exactly either because I was holding it and it never came out exactly the same again.

  4. Bonnie May 21, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Agreed that the composition of the first pic is better. But I like the concept of the second picture best. Makes me hungry…I love corn:)

    • mindymilburn May 21, 2010 at 11:52 am #

      Thanks for the comment Bonnie ๐Ÿ™‚ I love corn too!

  5. Jackie May 21, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    I like the first one so much. The framing is perfect, the husk make it look like opening a package of beautiful bright yellow yummyness.

    • mindymilburn May 21, 2010 at 11:53 am #

      That was a nice way to describe it ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you!!

  6. Stasia May 21, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    Wow. I love them both and these are (to me) the prettiest food pics you’ve done so far. They are very interesting to look at. I think the way you peeled it adds a lot to the picture.

    • mindymilburn May 22, 2010 at 10:39 am #

      Thank you! Thankfully I found food interesting again towards the end of the journey lol

  7. Susan May 21, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    I like the second one better, but I don’t know a damn thing about composition. I just know that second one makes me want to run out and get some corn. Imaginative titles, there girlie. I hope when you get in a cookbook “Dry Corn” won’t be the working title. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • mindymilburn May 22, 2010 at 10:40 am #

      Dry Corn LMAO!!! Yes my titles leave little to be desired, I am a conversational genius I tell ya! ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. pmc May 22, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    2nd one. That brings out the foodalicious essence of the corn better.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

โ€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.โ€ Eccl 11:4 TLB

